Skip navigation

So I got onto the 4 earlier tonight and one stop later a white cop got on. Maybe twenty seconds later, a young black youth switched from the subway car ahead of us and met up with one of his friends. Next thing I know, my friend is tapping me because there’s a full-on confrontation.

The cop is asking for the kid’s age. The kid says, “15.” The cop asks for his ID. Kid presents it and it turns out he’s 16. Cop asks why he lied. Kid doesn’t have an excuse. Cop says, “15, 16, 84, doesn’t matter. Get off on the next stop.” Apparently, the kid has to get off because he moved between subway cars.

I mean, sure, there’s a little sticker that says you can’t, but aren’t there bigger problems in NYC? Isn’t someone getting stabbed or raped right now? I felt like this was a white cop using his position of authority to pester some kid who was not only black but clearly underage at 1:30 AM on a Friday night. Maybe if the cop shows up at court, the kid’ll get fined $20. At most. Why did the cop have to be such a huge a-hole?

Even when they all got off, I was not the only one shrugging my shoulders and wondering wtf just happened. Admittedly, I was one of two white people in that car, but I think it’s fair to assume that we all thought that what had happened was fucking stupid. (Pardon my french, but I think I’ll grow up to be a firefighter before a cop. I think it has to do with how the only threat to my life is the fire–everyone respects you unless you don’t save lives. I don’t want a gun, just a respectable place of employment.)

I know the law is important in every aspect, but walking between subway cars happens every day and, at that late in the night, the poor kid’s going to have to wait another 45 minutes to get home. Why are we wasting tax payer’s dollars with such trivialities?

2 Comments

  1. Well as a colored individual he should know better than to do ANYTHING in front of a police officer (especially a white one) that would give the officer an excuse to harass him. Not saying that what happened is right, but if you grow up black you should know how to avoid these situations whenever possible.

  2. First of all, the kid had no way of seeing the cop before he switched subway cars and, second of all, no previous indication that walking between cars was really a crime. Everyone does it during the day and this is the first time I have ever seen anyone punished for it.

    Also, I guess I was hoping the days of this kind of harassment were over–what I mean is, I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to hear that colored kids have to avoid pissing off white cops. I was hoping that was a thing of the 60s, maybe 70s.

    But that’s clearly just wishful thinking.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] do. Also, it appears that they send cops all over random subway lines all day instead of just at night. So that’s neat. « Westerns, con e […]

Leave a Reply

