Skip navigation

Let’s say you’ve had a rough day and that you’re feeling so much like a piece of crap that you actually want to sweat the crappiness out of your system. Then tonight’s your lucky night, because I have just the recipe for you!

You will need:

  • 1 lb of ground chuck (You can rock sirloin if you really want)
  • 1 can (~15oz) of petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (~15oz) of drained kidney beans
  • 1 cup thick ‘n’ chunky hot salsa
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper (also called red pepper flakes)
  • salt and pepper to taste (I usually just use a pinch of each)

It’s surprisingly simple: Cook the beef, drain it, put it into your large skillet (or something you can cover), mix, bring to a boil then simmer while covered on low for 15 minutes. Serve hot and with hand towels so guests can mop their brows.

Swear to god, every time I make it, it feels like I’m purifying my soul (or like I’m burning my tongue–I’ll get back to you on that). So good.

Leave a Reply

