Skip navigation

Whew, I am glad that whole election thing’s over, aren’t you? I’d have to say–in addition to this being the most “historical,” “important” and “divisive” election in years–that it’s easily been the most emotional.

One of my closest friends and I were talking a while ago and he was saying cars with McCain/Palin bumper stickers were getting keyed at his school. He was predicting that America would be split in 25 years. I asked him–since he’s currently attending Wake Forest–if he meant that he was afraid the South would rise again, and he said he was actually much more worried the Red States would secede from the Blue.

I tried to tell him that states change color all the time and that, similarly, generations tend to be remembered only for the extremes. The sixties are remembered for hippies, everyone remembers disco in the seventies and voodoo economics in the eighties. Yet, if you talk to your parents, it’s not always the case. Both my parents neither went to Woodstock nor enjoy marijuana. My Dad almost went but his brother was too high to drive him. No one in any of my parents’ families seems to have enjoyed disco or leg warmers (maybe even just the 80s in general). All I remember of the eighties was my sister being born. Maybe a train set. The minority often comes to represent the majority, but, as America always does, we learn a lesson, we move on and we forget that lesson.

The history books will talk about “Oldest Candidate,” “First Female Vice Presidential candidate,” “First Female Presidential almost nominee,” “First African American President” and some might even mention “First Irish Catholic Vice President” (yeah, bet you guys didn’t know that one), but I don’t think they’ll include a sub-section on “The Beginning of the Heartland Secession.”

People in every state can’t agree on politics and the Electoral College is a surprisingly a poor indicator of US political leanings. I voted Blue–and this may come as a surprise to to the frequent readers of this blog considering my earlier political posts–and absentee in one of the Reddest states ever. Also, consider Georgia: It hasn’t been blue since it went to Clinton in ’91; they went Red in ’95 against the same man.  Furthermore, in the current election, it looks like (at this moment) Obama only has 52% of the popular vote, yet, according to my own personal calculations (McCain gets MO, Obama gets NC), Obama has approximately 67% of the Electoral vote.

So what I mean, at the most basic level, is I’m glad the election has been decided and we no longer have to debate who you like more–a Muslim terrorist or a septuagenarian who wears diapers (you didn’t hear the latter rumor? Well I guess you caught me attempting to spread a divisive rumor at the last minute). That is, I’m glad we’re no longer going to fight about what we believe personally–did any of you actually debate the issues or were your debates characterized completely by “last eight years” and “dead on election day?” One of the best quotes I found from a recent Matt Taibbi article (extremely liberal journalist for Rolling Stone) was actually about Ms. Palin’s nomination but really provided the most insight about the election in general: “The great insight of the Palin VP choice is that large chunks of American voters no longer even demand that their candidates even have positions; they simply consume them as media entertainment, rooting for or against them according to the reflexive prejudices of their demographic, as they would for reality-show contestants or sitcom characters.”

He also asserted that people voted for whoever best represented them: pitbulls, women, old people, black people, etc. But i guess, then, doesn’t it indicate that this has been one of the most relatable elections in years? Finally we have people attempting to listen in and making a decision because it’s not just a bunch of white dudes saying they’re going to lower taxes lower than each other. As great as it may be to have such a high interest level, I’m thoroughly pleased we won’t have to deal with this again for at least four years. I just don’t want to have to piss of my friends by talking about the Economy, Afghanistan, Al-Qaeda, Troop Levels, Abortions, Global Warming, Alternative Fuels or the Great Nation of Texas anymore.

2 Comments

  1. Second best political blog entry I read pertaining to the election.

    Am I biased?

    Maybe…

  2. You’re not biased. You’re John Mayer.


Leave a Reply

