Skip navigation

OhhhhhhhhhGoddd it hurts. I spent so much time on that 100th post I thought I was going to end up on a list called “Top 11 Lamest Blogs.” I literally clicked through each one like, “ohmigod, omigod, don’t…yessssssnotonit.” My face feels like it’s on fire because my brain’s melting from connecting all the dots.

I remember someone said, “If you love something, let it go,” but it wasn’t in a song that I know of, so…no footnote. I still have all kinds of quotes running through my head that describe me but that I can’t fit into the post. The Hold Steady once said, “I ain’t never been with your little hoodrat friend,”1 which completely applies to me. But it’s kind of cheating because 1) I don’t really know any hoodrats or anyone who has hoodrat friends and 2) I don’t like drugs. Which is what most of the rest of the song is about. Also, where does “I’m standing next to a mountain, I chop it down with the edge of my hand” fit in? It couldn’t be more true–I recently picked up all the pieces and made an island2–but it just didn’t fit.

I even have quotes that fit, I just got the point where I didn’t want to adjust all the footnotes. A great writer once said, “We just want to sing you to sleep in your bedroom speakers, Whoah!”3 This would have fit perfectly in the paragraph about my recording career, but then I’d have to readjust like 20 footnotes. Instead these three are here.

I think I’ll sleep and try to forget this project. Meet you at post 102.



Goddamnit! It’s become a habit.
1. “Your Little Hoodrat Friend” by The Hold Steady
2. “Voodoo Child” by The Jimi Hendrix
3. “Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am?” by Fall Out Boy

Leave a Reply

