Skip navigation

Here’s a story that’s way too long for this recipe:

I had Saturday off so I took the subway into town and walked from Manhattan to Brooklyn. Last summer I walked to the first tower and turned back (n00b tourist move) so I could get back home and make myself some dinner. Back on Saturday I felt the time had finally come for me to finally go the distance and walk the entire thing.

On the way up to the first tower the crowd was pretty much half Euro[tourists] and half gigantic families. I passed a ton of people and felt good about being a local instead of slow tourist. Past the second tower, everyone was pretty much walking towards Manhattan and beyond it, well, there was no one. To be honest, I don’t think many people have ever seen the “Welcome to Brooklyn” sign simply because the whole tourist venture seems to end at the second tower. I however love DUMBO, so I exited the bridge and found my favorite wine store where I purchased a bottle of red as my reward. The bottle said something about tasting great with meat on the label and I realized I should whip up some delicious hamburgers because the only way I know how to cook steak is on a grill (and since cooking on a grill would be 1) both ridiculous and hazardous in my apartment and 2) kind of too much effort for one steak for one dude).

Beat this meat:

  • ~1 lb of Ground Chuck
  • Less than a tablespoon of Cayenne Pepper
  • Dash of Salt
  • Dash of Pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 2 minced garlic cloves

Pretty simple preparation: mix it all together with your (clean) hands, shape it into patties (3-4) and cook ‘em. Tastes delicious in a little less than 10 minutes when you broil them. Also, about the Cayenne Pepper: I made these for my mom—who cannot stand anything spicy at all—and she thought they were delicious. It just adds a bit of flavor, not heat, to the delicious garlic topnotes.

If you don’t want them to shrink up, you can take a cookie sheet, place it on top of the meat and then put a brick on top of that. Usually that keeps them skinny like fast food hamburgers. Usually.

Leave a Reply

