Skip navigation

I went shopping yesterday and, to my great joy, I discovered there seems to be only one thing retailers can agree on: new music costs $10.

For example, at my local Western Beef, Kellogg’s Special K is just under six dollars but at Target it’s $2.79. Go up the block to my local bodega and they’ll sell the same cereal to you for $6. Speaking of the local bodega, you could buy a pint of Haagen-Dazs or Ben & Jerry’s ice cream there for $6.50. However, at Target, B&J sells for around $4 and at Western Beef B&J and H-D generally average around $5. It depends on the flavor and H-D usually costs 20 cents more, but I honestly don’t care because that still makes it $1.50 less than the bodega. Sure, that’s not much but with the amounts I’ve been eating recently, that $1.50 adds up. Yet, somehow my gym activities prevent the calories from adding up. Mmmmmm, Everything but the…

But with all these differing prices on the same shit, Best Buy and Target both sell new music for just about $10 during the first week music’s out. That’s pure, unadulterated awesome: as long as you keep up on new music releases you can get a physical copy of all the music you love that won’t disappear when your hard drive and iPod die at the same time. This way I avoid the minor guilt of doing something illegal like downloading it for free. I also get to flip through the booklet instead of scrolling through it. Yes, I’m that guy who likes the booklets; otherwise, I would have no idea that Steve Winwood played keyboards on the original recording of “Voodoo Chile” or that John Mayer’s “Crossroads” is, as I suspected, a cover of the Robert Johnson song (although obviously influenced by the Cream version).

“As long as I could buy records and have a place to live and eat, I was happy.”–Duke Robilard

Get like me and stay up on your new music, son. Tell ya moms I’mma call later.

7 Comments

  1. Oh, come on. You know that’s all I’d be buying if they had it here. Location, location, location.

  2. Also, I’m surprised you didn’t comment on the irony of a post about how I love new music right after a post about how I love old music.

  3. Target’s music is expurgated.

  4. Yeah, well, I’m sure they edited the shit out of John Mayer. His albums are full of all kinds of filthy words and disgusting concepts. That’s also why I went to Best Buy for Them Crooked Vultures.

  5. Reference not in database.

  6. Queens of the Stone Age Guitar + Nirvana Drums + Led Zeppelin Bass = Them Crooked Vultures.

    You would not like. Mart would.


Leave a Reply

