Skip navigation

My plan was to spend Tuesday in MoMA and to get a look at this here Tim Burton tomfoolery (see Interview 3), but I had the foresight to check their hours. Instead I decided to use my newfound knowledge of the Met (see upcoming Interview 4) to gain entrance for a 1$.

There was a painting, Heart of the Andes, in the Robert Lehman Collection that, in 1859, cost 25 cents to see. I nearly guffawed–they paid a quarter of what I paid to see an entire museum and that painting. At the original showings, they even encouraged people to bring opera glasses to look at this thing. Needless to say, I spent a little extra time perusing it.

Seeing as this is my fourth visit, I think I’m finally getting the lay of the land there. Reading the map is far easier and I spent a lot of my time trying to see areas I hadn’t yet seen or wanted to see more of. I finally saw their Japanese collection, some Chinese Buddhist art, some of the Islamic Art they had on display (construction), European sculpture, more European paintings and I finally got to spend more time in the Grecian art areas. I revisited visual storage, which is part visual overload and part pant-shitting awesome (some other dude in there sounded like he climaxed every time he turned a corner). Perhaps most importantly, I got to study their Mayan collection.

I think I might have been a Mayan in a past life. Just about everything they had gave me goosebumps and the sparsity of their collection left me wanting more. Plus, I love Mexican food, so…

I’m fully aware that the paragraph above my mexican musings could be read as if I’m attempting to impress you with my extensive and unparalleled culture and class. However, it’s really the opposite (particularly the class part). Getting familiar with the Met, getting to the point where I might be able to navigate and find things without a map makes me realize just how little I know about the world–that I know things, but that I will never know all of it, experience all of it.

It’s kind of like when Socrates said, “As for me, all I know is that I know nothing.” Whenever you heard that in school, you were always like, “Oh, yeah. I know that, too. Plus, my ferret ate my homework.” Gross, you had a ferret? Anyway, it was always just some bullshit in the background, that never felt real because you were always learning something to prove your value to the community.

And all it took was 1$, incredible back pain (from standing in place and slow walking for five hours) and lots of incredible art to realize, “Great Scott! Chris truly is full of shit. And this is only the tip of the iceberg. It’s just more bullshit from here on out–at least someone’s shining it.”

Leave a Reply

