Skip navigation

Finished Gravity’s Rainbow today. A monumental book, but I have to admit it’s not my style; I can see the guy‘s a crazy talented writer, I just don’t know if I need so much S&M in my literature. There’s definitely a page-long scene with one of the main characters shitting in someone’s mouth.

I think I understand why, though. I took a class on comedy in college and we talked a lot about dicks: dicks are funny. But we also talked a little about why weapons look like dicks. Sure, a rocket wouldn’t travel very far shaped like ovaries or a vagina, but what you have is basically a flying dick. Thus I understand why a book about a rocket was so sexual, but I have yet to see the need for all the pedophilia or the S&M.

But then again, that could be the whole point: war is sexual but it’s derelict, war if fucked up, war is fucked, war is fucking. When it comes down to it, war is fucking some guy out of his property. Maybe that means Germany used rockets to fuck Great Britain into submission but Great Britain finally said “No.” Thus, everybody was fucking and they were fucking weirdly. Or maybe Germany just loves S&M.

What’s killing me though is that I know I’ll have to reread this book to understand it. Sure, being beyond the 00000 is much better than nothing–maybe somewhere around an 87% comprehension rate–but something tells me that getting to 00001 will feel like–

Leave a Reply

