Skip navigation

Full Albums

  • Animal Collective, Merriweather Post Pavillion
  • Does It Offend You, Yeah?, You Have No Idea What You’re Getting Yourself Into
  • Led Zeppelin, Houses of the Holy, I, II, IV, In Through the Out Door
  • Ludacris, Chicken & Beer
  • Mayer Hawthorne, A Strange Arrangement
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • Pearl Jam, Vs.
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St.

Honestly, Heaven Is Whenever put me in a Led Zeppelin mood. Oddly enough, I think there was even a sound on it that reminded me of an Animal Collective song.

Random Highlights

  • The Roots, “Web
  • The Cool Kids, “What It Is
  • The Clash, “I’m Not Down”
  • Kings Of Leon, “Crawl”
  • Justin Timberlake, “What Goes Around…/…Comes Around”

The beats on the first two are really why they’re there: I’ll probably love them forever because of the beats and then someday find out what they’re rapping about. Maybe the internet and a rooftop party? One day, we’ll all know. Also important to address the JT track. I have a friend from work who turned 29 on Saturday so he, his girlfriend and I went to his father’s house in Brooklyn where his dad played all kinds of awesome music like 3 Dog Night, Diana Ross, Smokey Robinson, Barry White and Al Green. I felt terrible on the way to work this morning, but the JT song felt a little like keeping the tradition going. Plus, my friend got into a fight with his girl and his pop was kind of mourning breaking up with his girlfriend. I think, subliminally, JT’s joint might have been the perfect pick-me-up song. Good shit.

Leave a Reply

