Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Beat the Devil’s Tattoo
  • Ghostface Killah, Fishscale
  • The Hold Steady, Boys and Girls in America
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • The Police, Reggatta De Blanc
  • Public Enemy, It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St (Deluxe Edition)
  • Spoon, Transference
  • The-Dream, Love vs. Money
  • Warren Zevon, Genius: The Best of Warren Zevon

I don’t remember where it happened, but I saw Kid Rock’s music video for “All Summer Long” and thought, “Oh God, Kid Rock’s still pretending he’s living in the 70’s and covering “Werewolves of London” only to realize he was talking about some chick and not maulings. Next I know, I’m musing, “Damn, ‘Werewolves of London,’ ‘Boom Boom Mancini,’  ‘Detox Mansion,’ and ‘Sentimental Hygiene’ were my jams when I was ten and my dad used to play them in his Peugot on cassette. I wanna listen to some Zevon again.” Little did I know, I wanted to listen to a lot of Zevon. I think I listened to Genius like three or four times this week. It’s like I was trying to make up for all those years I haven’t been listening to Warren. That man was kinda hilarious and definitely awesome. Plus, if he was that tight with Dave Letterman, he’s my kinda guy.

Random Excellence:

  • UGK, “One Day”
  • Steve Winwood, “Split Decision”
  • The Notorious B.I.G., “I love the Dough (Feat. Jay-Z)”
  • GZA, “Labels” (Always read the labels.)
  • BlackRoc, “Coochie (Feat. ODB and Ludacris)”
  • The Clash, “(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais”
  • Jimmy Reed, “Take Out Some Insurance”
  • Shout Out Louds, “You Are Dreaming”
  • The-Dream, “Purple Kisses” (A hard decision, particularly because the other random The-Dream song was “Luv Songs,” a song I wish one day to reenact.)
  • A Tribe Called Quest, “Award Tour”

When not listening to Warren, spent a lot of time shuffling my music. It was like I was trying to pretend I didn’t want to just give Genius another spin.

We learn these things by heart.

Leave a Reply

