Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Crash Kings, Crash Kings
  • Gorillaz, Plastic Beach
  • Jay-Z, Blueprint 3
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • Ludacris, Chicken & Beer
  • Pearl Jam, Ten
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • The Roots, How I Got Over1
  • Roykskopp, Junior
  • The-Dream, Love King (Deluxe Edition)
  • Usher, Confessions2 and Raymond V Raymond
  • Vampire Weekend, Contra
  • Van Halen, Diver Down and Fair Warning
  • Wale, Attention Deficit
  • The xx, xx

Top Notch Tidbits:

  • Wale, “W.A.L.E.D.A.N.C.E.”
  • Sadat X, “Turn It Up (Feat. Pete Rock3)”
  • Sly & The Family Stone, “Family Affair”
  • The Roots, “Quills”4
  • John Mayer, “Covered In Rain”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Roots, “The Fire”
  • Common, “The Light”

Reviews:
1. This one was definitely overshadowed by The-Dream for me. But now that I’m beginning to surface from my Love King character study, this one is becoming better and better each time I listen to it. Seriously, “The Fire” is thoroughly enjoyable to me. The last five songs or so remind me of how The-Dream’s suites (See “Yamaha,” “Nikki Part 2” and “Abyss;” “Fast Car” through “Purple Kisses;” or “Take U Home 2 My Momma” through “Love Vs. Money, Pt. 2.”)
2. This one’s seriously growing on me. As a whole, it’s beginning to come together for me. I think I’d made a mistake of letting my iTunes sort songs by every artist on the song instead of just Usher: thus “My Boo” was listed under “Usher and Alicia Keys” and wouldn’t get played when I was listening to the abbreviated Confessions album.
3. Pete Rock is the shit.
4. I would like to think that I too am scientific with my reflex gangster. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

