Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Bun B, Trill O.G.1
  • The Gaslight Anthem, American Slang
  • Gorillaz, Plastic Beach
  • The Hold Steady, Stay Positive2
  • Jay-Z, Hard Knock Life, Vol. 2
  • Kelly Clarkson, All I Ever Wanted
  • The Roots, How I Got Over
  • Sleigh Bells, Treats3
  • The-Dream, Love Hate, Love King (Deluxe Edition) and Love vs. Money
  • Wu Tan vs The Beatles, Enter the Magical Mystery Chambers
  • Yelawolf, Trunk Muzik4

Random Excellence:

  • UGK, “Pinky Ring”
  • The Police, “Message in a Bottle”
  • Living Things, “I Owe”
  • The Beastie Boys, “Sabotage”
  • Beck, “Girl”

Song of the Week:

  • Yelle, “Tu Es Beau”

Reviews:

1. From what I’ve heard so far, I like it. I need to be able to listen to it more to be able to fully comment, although I do love “Let ‘Em Know.” Listened to like 5 seconds of it and was like, “Yep, this one’s set to go.” But this 5 microphones business? Debatable at this juncture.

2. Trying to make all of “Constructive Summer” my mantra. Indeed, toast to Saint Joe Strummer. Yes, summer has granted us the power to drink on rooftops because I can’t find any water towers. I will very soon be something bigger.

3. I really like “Rill Rill,” but so far the jury’s out on the rest of the album. I think the first song’s pretty good too, but the rest of the album seems like it might need less distortion. I can’t believe I said it either. Either way, it’s fairly obvious why M.I.A. likes this band so much.

4. The poor guy can’t write a hook for the life of him, but at least his raps are excellent.

Comment:

Sorry I turned this in late. I’ll get a note from my mother.

Leave a Reply

