Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • Big Boi, Sir Luscious Leftfoot…Son of Chico Dusty
  • Empire of the Sun, Walking on a Dream
  • Fall Out Boy, From Under the Cork Tree
  • The Gaslight Anthem, The ’59 Sound
  • Katy Perry, Teenage Dream1
  • Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Trouble Is…
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • Lykke Li, Youth Novels
  • Mike Posner, 31 Minutes to Takeoff2
  • Pete Rock and C.L. Smooth, Mecca & the Soul Brother3
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • The Roots, How I Got Over
  • Sleigh Bells, Treats4
  • Spoon, Transference
  • The-Dream, Love-Hate, Love King (Deluxe Ed.)
  • Van Halen, Van Halen
  • Warren Zevon, Genius: The Best of Warren Zevon

Randomly Excellent Songs:

  • The XX, “Shelter”
  • Transplants, “I want it all”
  • Lonely Island, “Lazy Sunday”5
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, “Beat the Devil’s Tattoo”6
  • A Tribe Called Quest, “The Hop”

Songs I went out of my way to listen to:

  • Prince, “Bambi”
  • Julian Casablancas, “11th Dimension”
  • Genesis vs. Katy Perry, “Invisible Gurls”
  • Miley Cyrus, “Party (and Bullshit) in the USA (Feat. Notorious B.I.G.)”

Reviews:

1. I feel like this album’s kind of the celebration of the American male and as an American male, I definitely like parts of it. “Who am I living for?” pisses the everloving shit out of me. I’m not a fan of sneaking the big old Jesus song into a pop album.

2. This was kind of the surprise release of last week. I knew I liked the single but I was very much pleasantly surprised to find I enjoyed the rest of the album. Pretty much didn’t listen to the new Eyrkah Badu because of this album.

3. Sometimes I just have to listen to this album. It’s kind of a perfect album as far as I can tell, the kind of album that reveals its greatness ore and more with every listen.

4. Hip hop beats and metal guitar riffs? Of course I love this, I guess I just wasn’t sure about that two weeks ago. I feel like the album’s structured like a book in the sense there’s a long buildup, “Rill Rill” is the climax and then there’s a short denouement with the last three songs. Really good stuff.

5. This one popped up–as per the regulations of the “Random Excellence” section–and I nearly skipped passed it. I listened to it and found the timing oddly perfect since they rap about my neighborhood and since it played right before my Mom was set to arrive in town. Of course, I played the video for her this morning and she loved it.

6. Oh, hell yes.

Comment:

I kinda fixed my computer on Tuesday but my Mom landed on Wednesday so I decided to just set the post aside until the end of her visit.

Leave a Reply

