Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Adele, 19
  • The Black Keys, Brothers
  • Bun B, Trill O.G.
  • Chickenfoot, Chickenfoot
  • Eyrkah Badu, New Amerykah, Pt. Two: Return Of The Ankh
  • Fall Out Boy, From Under The Cork Tree
  • The Hold Steady, Heaven Is Whenever
  • Katy Perry, Teenage Dream1
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • Marvin Gaye, Let’s Get It On
  • Mastodon, Blood Mountain2
  • Meth, Ghost and Rae, Wu Massacre
  • Mike Posner, 31 Minutes to Takeoff
  • The National, High Violet3
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St. (Deluxe Edition)
  • The Roots, How I Got Over
  • Royksopp, Junior
  • Saves the Day, Stay What You Are
  • The-Dream, Love vs. Money

Random Excellence:

  • Yelawolf, “Stage Lights (Remix)”
  • Otis Redding, “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)”
  • Slim Harpo, “Tip On In”
  • Outkast, “Atliens”
  • Barry White, “Never, Never Gonna Give You Up”

Songs of the Week:

  • Katy Perry, “Teenage Dream” and “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)”
  • Shakira, “She Wolf”4

Notes:

1. Shut up.

2. Had to listen to this because of 1. Also, it’s weird how “Colony of Birchmen” sticks out like a sore thumb–far and away the best song on this album. I like how they hid a fan letter from some guy named Josh Homme at the end, though. That’s fucking classic.

3. I can tell it’s good I just wasn’t in the mood for it the day I listened to it. I get the impression the lyrics are pretty depressing and right now I’m making an effort to act like the Hold Steady and Stay Positive. So this wasn’t really working for me even though The National sure makes some cool sounds sometimes.

4. Funky, empowering; I’m surprised this wasn’t a bigger hit, particularly with the ladies. LET YOUR SHE WOLF OUT OF YOUR CLOSET. I’m sure there are more people than just me who like being seduced by women instead of doing all the seducing. And when I say I’m doing all of the seducing, I mean I’m asking stupid questions like, “Wanna hang out?”

Comment:

A good week for new music, but I still ended up balancing that out with tried-and-true classics that I love. I love new music and all but sometimes I just need some jams that I know will make me feel good.

Leave a Reply

