Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Hold Steady, Almost Killed Me, Boys and Girls in America, Separation Sunday and Stay Positive1
  • Interpol, Interpol
  • Living Things, Ahead of the Lions2
  • Pearl Jam, Rearviewmirror and Vs.3
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, Mecca & the Soul Brother4
  • The-Dream, Love vs. Money

Random Excellence:

  • Taking Back Sunday, “Bonus Mosh, Pt. II”5
  • The Knux, “F!re (Put it in the Air)”
  • Craig Mack, “Flava in Ya Ear (Remix)”6
  • Eagles of Death Metal, “I Used to Couldn’t Dance (Tight Pants)”7
  • Eyrkah Badu, “Honey”8

Songs of the Week:

  • Fall Out Boy, “Pavlove”
  • Ladyhawke, “Manipulating Woman”
  • LCD Soundsystem, “Dance Yrself Clean”
  • Lykke Li, “Breaking it up”
  • Pearl Jam, “Leash”

Reviews:

1. Been fiending some rock this week. I have a bad habit that comes from listening to songs on random all the time where my finger moves to the “next” button towards the ends of songs. Then the next song would play and it would be more Hold Steady and I would think, “Oh yeah, I’m still listening to an album and I love this song. Screw you, finger.”

2. This was more of the rock I needed this week. It’s like Black Rebel Motorcycle Club but faster. Thus, better.

3. Soundgarden’s coming out with a best of album that reminded me that their drummer is currently in Pearl Jam. So I listened to a lot of rock, courtesy of Pearl Jam.

4. No song on this album sticks out for me because they’re all too good. This album saves lives.

5. Come on. Even my mom likes this song.

6. I, too, consider myself no longer a resident of Houston, but I rap a lot. Indeed, people are mad that I get more butt than ashtrays. Haha, it’s so good.

7. This is a vignette in the memoir of Chris’ post collegiate life.

8. This is why I like Erykah Badu. Forget the 10 minute songs, the collaborations, the music videos. I like her when she’s funky, soulful, in love.

Comment:

As much as I’ve been fiending rock this week, I’ve also kind of been in a rut. I flipped through some of my Rolling Stones to find some new music I’ll be looking up post-haste. Good morrow.

Leave a Reply

