Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • Fall Out Boy, Folie A Deux (Deluxe Edition)
  • Gorillaz, Plastic Beach
  • GZA, Pro Tools
  • Interpol, Interpol
  • LCD Soundsystem, This is Happening!
  • Mark Ronson and The Business Intl, Record Collection1
  • The National, High Violet2
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • Pearl Jam, Vs.
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St. (Deluxe Edition)
  • The Roots, How I Got Over

Random Excellence:

  • Van Halen, “(Oh) Pretty Woman”
  • U2, “New Year’s Day”
  • Sleigh Bells, “Crown on the Ground”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Rolling Stones, “Ventilator Blues”
  • The Heavy, “How You Like Me Now?”
  • Gorillaz, “Orchestral Intro” and “Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach”
  • Erykah Badu, “Honey”

Reviews:

1. On first listen, this is just as good as I was hoping. New favorite business includes “Bang Bang Bang” and “Selector.” It’s just like the album cover advertises: new people singing new songs with all the synth trappings of the ’80s.

2. I’m having a hard time getting into it because I know the lyrics are depressing but I also know the music’s pretty great. Unique sounds, beats I love (just keep hitting that hi-hat) and a solid voice yet still those lyrics are beyond me right now and I’m kind of trying to keep it that way.

Comment:

I finally got to do a copyedit test over the weekend and it was part funnest test ever and part terrifying triple checking my own work to make sure I did everything right. If I can copyedit for these people, there’s a very good chance I will have my dream job. So I listened to like four albums to silence all the distractions and how excited I am.

I know I said new music was coming but the reason I got a virus last time was because of new music. So you’ll understand if I was a little apprehensive about upping my tracks. But I have a bunch of new jumpoffs to listen to now so I might be okay for a while. You’ve heard about this Santogold character, I presume? I was thrown off by the album cover when her shit dropped, but I’ve been listening and I’m beginning to get the impression she secretly runs music. I’m beginning to realize how great (influential?) she is despite the gross cover.

Leave a Reply

