Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • B.B. King, Live in Cook County Jail1
  • Best Coast, Crazy for You2
  • Eagles of Death Metal, Heart On3
  • Fleetwood Mac, Rumours
  • Lupe Fiasco, Enemy of the State
  • Mark Ronson and The Business Intl, Record Collection4
  • Owl City, Ocean Eyes5
  • Robyn, Body Talk, Pt. 26
  • Santogold, Santogold7
  • Soundgarden, Telephantasm8
  • The Temper Trap, Conditions9
  • The-Dream, Love Hate and Love King (Deluxe Edition)

Random Excellence:

  • Wu Tang vs. The Beatles, “Run”
  • Brand New, “(Fork and Knife)”
  • Slim Harpo, “Shake Your Hips”
  • Pearl Jam, “Last Exit”
  • Outkast, “Life is like a Musical”

Songs of the Week:

  • Motherfucking Child Rebel Soldiers, “Don’t Stop!”10
  • Mark Ronson and The Motherfucking Business Intl, “Bang Bang Bang”

Reviews:

1. As far as I’m concerned, “Worry, Worry” is a perfect song. It’s right up there with “Once in a Lifetime” or “Ventilator Blues.” And “The Thrill is Gone” is right there, too: it’s funky, it’s bluesy and it shows just how good everyone in that band is. An excellent album.

2. I don’t know if I copped the wrong version or something, but this is like a female-led short-bus version of The Beatles. There was a lot of hype but the repetition was killing me.

3. I was surprised I listened to this all the way through because it’s a spotty record: parts are sublime and parts are plain old mediocre. At the time I was donating platelets, an hour and a half process, and I couldn’t stop listening. I didn’t want to. It just made sense at the time. (I’m only getting this now, but…HeartOn…) Afterward I tried to listen to The Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs because that’s been receiving all kinds of critical acclaim, but I had to stop early and switch back to Mark Ronson. I know it’s good and I did like it but I think I’m still angry with them for making such a terrible sophomoric debut. I hated it. “No Cars Go” was good and I guess “Keep the Car Running” was okay. So This album and Ronson’s were good for me while I was deathly afraid the needle in my vein had pierced no vein and was sapping my life force instead of platelets.

4. It’s like prog-pop. Lots of notes, lots of guest vocalists, lots of quality.

5. I worry “Fireflies” will be his only hit. It’s good and he’s a witty guy, but the production makes it hard to differentiate between songs. However, there is a good chance I’ll rescind that judgment as I continue to listen. Right, Sleigh Bells?

6. Where have you been all my life?

7. Like I hinted last week, this is a great album. There’s a lot of great material here and I still think I’ve only just scratched the surface. Even so, “Lights Out” stands above and beyond for me–it’s catchy, it’s cool and those guitars are fucking working for her. She’s like the indie Alicia Keys. And it’s awesome.

8. Right now the best two songs are the first and the last ones. But of course, it makes me wonder why I loved “Outshined,” “Rusty Cage” and “Fell on Black Days” (among many other radio-friendly songs) and only recently decided I love Soundgarden. I remember in high school the very same best friend whose mother decided we should make time capsules was a huge fan of Queens of the Stone Age and Soundgarden. And for some reason, I don’t pick up on those bands until way after the fact. Regardless, they played the shit out of their instruments and wrote some incredibly intelligent songs.

9. I really like “Sweet Disposition” and “Fader” and I think the rest of the album makes me want to murder them. Not sure yet, but I am pretty sure I don’t like anything on there but those two songs.

10. This came out on Friday. My playcount for it as of Sunday, 12AM was 10. Note, though, that playcount doesn’t account for when I first heard it on the internet and played it again and again or the times I’ve listened to it or the “back” button. I award highest points possible to all parties involved. It’s G.O.O.D. as hell.

Comment:

That was the scariest platelet donation I’ve ever made. The lady checked to make sure the needle was in the vein like three times. Even after that, the apheresis machine decided the pressure wasn’t enough to draw blood three times, which means there was an alarm and flashing lights everywhere. I had just been listening to B.B. King so I was perfectly relaxed and content, but this lady and this machine are freaking me the fuck out. I don’t want to die because, in the process of attempting to help people in need of platelets, some lady poked my secret, oddly located Achilles heel with a needle. So I listened to Record Collection again to keep me from ripping the needle out and going on a rampage in downtown Brooklyn as if my name was Teddy Daniels.

Leave a Reply

