Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Empire of the Sun, Walking on a Dream
  • Erykah Badu, New Amerykah, Pt. Two: Return Of The Ankh
  • Ghostface Killah, Ghostdini Wizard of Poetry in Emerald City
  • Kings of Leon, Because of the Times and Only by the Night
  • Mark Ronson and The Business Intl, Record Collection
  • Mike Posner, 30 Minutes to Takeoff…
  • Owl City, Ocean Eyes
  • Pete Rock and C.L. Smooth, Mecca & the Soul Brother
  • Prince, Prince
  • Robert Plant, Band of Joy1
  • Robyn, Body Talk Pt. 2
  • The Rolling Stones, Beggar’s Banquet
  • Santogold, Santogold
  • Soundgarden, Telephantasm
  • The-Dream, Love Hate
  • Wiz Khalifa, Kush & Orange Juice2

Random Excellence:

  • The Wildbirds, “It’s Alright Now”
  • Usher, “There Goes My Baby”
  • Shakira, “She Wolf”
  • Public Enemy, “Shut ‘Em Down”
  • The Postal Service, “This Place is a Prison”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Temper Trap, “Sweet Disposition” and “Fader”

Reviews:

1. I had high hopes for this but I think the only song on it I like is the first one. The dude can still sing but folk music is just not my thing. Like every once in a while someone pulls it off–and it’s usually only the folk songs with huge gospel flairs–but I don’t think this is one of those situations. I have nothing but respect for Mr. Plant, but I do not like this album.

2. With the release of his music video for “Black and Yellow,” this had to happen. Although I don’t smoke anything, I understand the appeal of having a vice. So I can’t entirely relate to 60 minutes of waking and baking, he can still rap.

Comment:

Owl City’s “The Tip of the Iceberg” reminds me of The Postal Service’s “Brand New Colony” which didn’t get played this week but The Postal Service’s “This Place is a Prison” did. I don’t have anything insightful to say, just playing a miniature game of six degrees of separation.

Leave a Reply

