Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Beat the Devil’s Tattoo
  • The Cure, Galore
  • Fall Out Boy, Folie A Deux
  • The Gaslight Anthem, American Slang
  • Girl Talk, All Day
  • Gorillaz, Plastic Beach
  • Justice, Cross
  • Kanye West, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy1
  • Kings of Leon, Come Around Sundown
  • LCD Soundsystem, This is Happening!
  • Led Zeppelin, IV
  • Mark Ronson and The Business Intl, Record Collection
  • Marvin Gaye, Let’s Get It On
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • The Police, Regatta De Blanc
  • Prince and The Revolution, Purple Rain
  • The Rolling Stones, Beggar’s Banquet and Exile on Main St.
  • The Roots, How I got Over
  • Saves the Day, Stay What You Are2
  • A Tribe Called Quest, Beats Rhymes and Life
  • TV on the Radio, Dear Science
  • Yelle, Pop Up

Random Excellence

  • ZZ Top, “Cheap Sunglasses”
  • Warren Zevon, “Detox Mansion”
  • Royskopp, “Happy Up Here”
  • Public Enemy, “Brothers Gonna Work It Out”
  • New Found Glory, “All About Her”2
  • Mos Def, “Brooklyn”
  • Jay-Z, “Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)”
  • Interpol, “Obstacle 1”2
  • The Afghan Whigs, “66”

Songs of the Two Weeks:

  • Mike Posner, “Please Don’t Go”
  • Lykke Li, “Breaking It Up”
  • Katy Perry, “Teenage Dream”3
  • Kanye West, “All of the Lights”4
  • Julian Casablancas, “11th Dimension”
  • Gym Class Heroes, “Cookie Jar”
  • The Cure, “Strange Attraction”5

Reviews:

1. This is a tough call; it’s excellent but it would be a stretch for me to give this album a ten out of ten. I mean, there’s some truly great stuff on here but just like most albums, there’s also some bullshit. As far as I’m concerned, the first six songs are amazing and all of “All of the Lights” makes up for how much of an asshole he’s been in the past couple of months. The playing field is even, now we’re just waiting for him to continue fucking up outside the studio. Which brings me to “So Appalled”; I just don’t like it. It’s lackluster, it’s creepy and the only time RZA shows up on this album, his verse is lackluster and he’s even saying the same crap Swizz Beatz is–and that guy’s a lifetime member of the shortbus committee. That song is, in my opinion the low point of the album and the rest is an attempt to climb out of the hole it creates. That’s actually a great way to talk about Kanye in general: makes some amazing music, opens his mouth and hits a new low, works to get himself out for about the same amount of time. If only he would rap, produce and just never talk in public–he’d be set for life.

2. I was home for Thanksgiving and being home reminded me of some of the music I used to listen to in high school. It also reminded me that some of the stuff I listened to then I’ll probably keep listening to forever. If my kids like “Nightingale” and “This is not an Exit,” then I’ll probably feel I’ve raised them right.

3. “I’mma get your heart racing in my skin tights jeans/Be your teenage dream tonight/Let you put your hands on me in my skin tight jeans/Be your teenage dream tonight.”

4. Production is simply amazing, particularly the intro. Incredibly complex for a guy who autotuned his whole last album. I shouldn’t be surprised because he’s been a producer first and a rapper second for a while but I just love this song.

5. That line about lipstick is relentlessly romantic.

Comment:

It’s funny, a lot of the music this week was either music I used to listen to a lot in high school or stuff I should have listened to more in high school. I directly associate that with being in Texas again for a week, but it’s funny that a lot of my musical tastes haven’t really changed much since then. Although I do understand my dad’s feeling about crass language and good singing–it’s just so much easier to listen to the new Fall Out Boy compared to some of their original stuff. I rarely ever listen to Senses Fail anymore because of the yelling. The cursing in music generally slips right past me until I listen to my music around my parents. Cee-Lo Green’s last album, although great, is pretty filthy. So we listened to a lot of Rolling Stones…

Leave a Reply

