Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Black Keys, Brothers
  • Booker T. & The MG’s, Green Onions1
  • Broken Bells, Broken Bells2
  • Eagles of Death Metal, Peace Love Death Metal3
  • Fall Out Boy, From Under the Cork Tree
  • Ghostface Killah, Apollo Kids4
  • Jay-Z, Hard Knock Life, Vol. 2
  • M83, Saturdays=Youth
  • Metric, Fantasies5
  • Mumford & Sons, Sigh No More6
  • Pearl Jam, Vs.
  • The Roots, The Tipping Point
  • The-Dream, Love Hate and Love Vs. Money
  • A Tribe Called Quest, Beats Rhymes & Life
  • The xx, xx

Random Excellence:

  • Massive Attack, “Angel”
  • Wu Tang Clan Vs. The Beatles, “Daytona 500”
  • Ludacris, “Hip Hop Quotables”
  • The Cure, “Torture”
  • The Clash, “Career Opportunities”7

Songs of the Week:

  • M83, “Kim and Jessie” and “We Own the Sky”
  • Broken Bells, “The Ghost Inside”
  • Booker T. & The MG’s, “Green Onions” and “Twist and Shout”

Reviews:

1. Sometimes I felt like the organ was a little too high in the mix, then I remembered that Booker T. was playing it. I call dibs on them for my back-up band when I get signed…if they’re alive still…

2. They have a saying around these parts: Danger Mouse can bring out the best in you. But sometimes, there’s not so much there that I would want to stay. Also, if they’re talking about a follow up album, my prediction is it’ll happen, get so-so reviews and be disbanded a la Gnarls Barkley.

3. This band kind of puzzles me despite my growing love for them. This was probably their best album despite the fact that their songs get better with each album. Which is to say, this is their best album but some of the songs on their newer albums are way better; however, it’s only some of the songs. The strength of the few good songs on the new albums outweigh the strength of the original album. Perhaps they’ll surprise me on their next album and have their most cohesive and thoroughly awesome album yet.

4. NEEDS MORE GZA. Maybe some more songs, too; not quite an LP, definitely not an EP.

5. Really good stuff, but I hate that my place of employment decided that, too and decided to play them to no end. So I was familiar with a lot of the songs on first listen, but I also kinda hated a lot of these songs on first listen.

6. I’m worried they’re going to be a one-hit wonder: “Little Lion Man” stands above the rest of the album pretty definitively and deals with some of the major themes better than the rest of the album can. It’s not a terrible album, but I’ll admit it does kind of sound the same to me right now.

7. Who let The Clash get so goddamned right? Whoever you are, thank you.

Comment:

I have to do an overnight tonight (Monday) so if I respond snappily or decide not to hang out with you in the next, oh, seven days or so, I apologize in advance on behalf of both myself and my inexorable, unexplainable inability to attain new employment. At least I have an interview on Friday! See you later!

(Caution: After Tuesday, the last three sentences will probably appear as the following: “I’m not sorry. You know what’s sorry? The store I work for. Maybe I can get out of that place by Friday. Whatever, bye.”)

Leave a Reply

