Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • The Clash, The Essential Clash1
  • Empire of the Sun, Walking on a Dream
  • Ghostface Killah, Apollo Kids and Ghostdini Wizard of Poetry in Emerald City
  • Gorillaz, Plastic Beach and The Fall2
  • GZA, Pro Tools
  • Janelle Monae, The ArchAndroid3
  • M83, Saturdays =Youth
  • Method Man, Tical
  • Mike Posner, 31 Minutes to Takeoff
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • Rad Omen, Search, Party and Destroy4
  • Rihanna, Loud5
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main Street (Deluxe Edition)
  • Sufjan Stevens, The Age of Adz6

Random Excellence:

  • Brand New, “Jude Law and a Semester Abroad”7
  • Wu Tang Vs. The Beatles, “Back in the Game”
  • UGK, “Pinky Ring”
  • The Hold Steady, “Party Pit”8
  • Jay-Z, “Reservoir Dogs”8

Songs of the Week:

  • Ghostface Killah, “Ghetto” and “Guesthouse”9
  • The Clash, “This is England”
  • Rad Omen, “Rad Anthem” and “Losing Tonight”

Reviews:

1. The computer at my new internship had this album and I listened to the whole thing. I gotta get up on this Sandista! thing. The more I listen, the more impressed I get with these guys. “This is England” is amazing. “This is Radio Clash” is phenomenal. “Police on my Back?” Classic. Thank God Simonon and Jones are making music with each other again. Looking at you, Gorillaz.

2. So you found Gorillaz. Plastic Beach was the first time those two dudes I just mentioned played with each other since The Clash broke up–and this is an amazing album. Which was what was hard for me about The Fall. It’s definitely impressive for an album recorded on an iPad, but it’s plain old got nothing on Plastic Beach. I do admit I like that song about Houston (“The Parish of Space Dust”).

3. The best word for this one is “lush.” There’s a lot going on here and I’m going to need to keep listening because it’s very complex–lyrically, musically, metaphorically. I get the impression this is a great and highly underrated album. Plus, this lady’s pipes belong in the fifties or something because she can freakin’ wail with the kind of soul unheard of these days–unless it’s from white girls like Adele or Amy Winehouse. The latter is perhaps an undersell.

4. Very obvious why these guys don’t seem to be signed yet. A spotty little EP I downloaded for free from their website. Unlike another album I downloaded for free from an artist’s website (you know what you did, Childish Gambino), this one shows a lot of potential. Spotty, but showing a lot of potential. In addition to genuinely loving “Rad Anthem,” the music video is kind of hilarious–and not just because Nick Swardson is in it. I moved past the fact that they all seem to be doing a lot of coke because I know I don’t have to do coke to like the video and the song. I guess it wouldn’t hurt, but I’m not going to start doing drugs because a music video’s entertaining. Similarly, I wouldn’t like the whole EP even if I was on drugs. It’s a good first EP, though.

5. I had the same problem listening to her that I did when I listened to my first Usher album: the singles are amazing and the rest is just filler. The singles won’t get the deuce out of your head and the filler is better than average but still not good enough for me to drop my headphones and rush the the nearest Best Buy to purchase their entire back catalog. She ain’t no goddamned Clash.

6. I want him to take singing lessons and tune down the musical freak outs. I like it, but I’m not going to write home to my parents about it. Tone it down, friend.

7. For some reason my iPod played this on shuffle like two or three times. I’m not dealing with a recent breakup or attempting to resolve any lingering girl issues, but for some reason DignePod could not have been more correct to select this song at random multiple times for my listening pleasure. You’ve earned a treat, DignePod.

8. Nothing says “Congratulations on making it through another day in retail without any ‘accidental’ boxcutter guttings” like the one-two punch of these two songs. God, DignePod was freakin’ on fire this week.

9. I might have listened to “Ghetto” 10 times this week. For a while I was so hung up on the greatness of the sample, the beat and the bassline that I though it was a Ghostface Killah song without Ghostface on it. All I could hear was bass, Shallah, drums, Cappadonna and samples–and that’s saying quite a bit because I’m not big on Cappadonna and it’s Ghostface’s album. Sometimes he doesn’t appear on songs on his own albums, but seriously? Capadonna over Ghostface. No, DigneBrain: that beat can’t be that magnificent. It might be, though.

Comment:

Check out all that Wu, kid. The new internship is not only fantastic, but also earbud friendly, so I’m finally back into a normal music groove. Plus, some of the people I work with are big on Wu too, so it was easy to slip back into Tical or Pro Tools–to slip back into the classics.

Being alive right now’s pretty awesome despite weird sleep schedules and a severely heightened coffee intake. I’ll be fine and I’m pretty sure it’s only going to get better.

Leave a Reply

