Skip navigation

I was sad to discover that the whole reason I started this tradition no longer wishes to participate: I never heard back from my roommate’s ex-girlfriend when I asked for her address and when I asked my roommate for her current address he, and this is highly privileged information, told me, “Fuck you.” Luckily, though, I picked up a new subscriber last year even though I’ve lost two since. My new trinity of super-select women who totally deserve this mixtape now include one repeat customer, a lady I recently took on a date and my sister. All Freudian implications aside, I’m not entirely sure there’s a reason I can’t keep expanding the subscribers. I might start sending these to my Mom, although sending a romantic, sexy, no pants playlist to my sister is already weird enough.

It should also be noted that, due to popular and overwhelming demand, I made an honest attempt to exclude a lot of really good rap songs. I was considering including things like Lupe Fiasco’s “Sunshine,” The-Dream’s “Yamaha” or Method Man’s “All I Need,” but I realized some of these things might be overkill or could stick out like a sore thumb among a very alternative- and indie-heavy song set.

I also realized after I’d burned the first mixtape I should probably have included The Temper Trap’s “Sweet Disposition” and I really wanted to include M83’s “We Own the Sky” though it only had hints of love in it. Perhaps they will be that much more effective next year with some distance, some perspective. It’s also killing me that “Little Bit” probably belongs more towards the end of the second section (right after “Indestructible”), but this what happens when the Postal Service forces you to, like, plan ahead and stuff.

Without any further distraction or male bovine feces, I’d like to present Dia Del Valntin ’11:

1. Robyn, “Hang with Me
2. TV on the Radio, “Province
3. Mike Posner, “Do You Wanna?”
4. Lykke Li, “Little Bit
5. The Black Keys, “Everlasting Light
6. The-Dream, “F.I.L.A.”
7. Robyn, “Indestructible
8. Cee-Lo Green, “Wildflower”
9. Katy Perry, “Hummingbird Heartbeat”
10. Alicia Keys, “Teenage Love Affair
11. Common, “The Light
12. Yelle, “Tu Es Beau
13. Talking Heads, “This Must be the Place (Naive Melody)
14. The Black Keys, “Howlin’ for You”
15. The Rolling Stones, “Pass the Wine (Sophia Loren)”
16. Prince and The Revolution, “I Would Die 4 U”
17. The Cure, “Strange Attraction”
18. Barry White, “Never, Never Gonna Give You Up”
19. Kings of Leon, “Birthday”
20. Prince and The Revolution, “Take Me with U”
21. Mike Posner, “Please Don’t Go

So here’s why this happened:

You like me? You shouldn’t. 1-2: This is the, “Hey, you should know I’m crazy and weird before you get into this” section. That, “Oh, you like music and movies? Me too, but are you sure that means we should date?” time frame.

Alright, but are you sure? 3-7: That was an impressive speech you gave about the virtues of dating and I was thoroughly impressed with your Powerpoint presentation on your levels of awesome. After some serious consideration, I’ve come to the conclusion that, “Shit, I’m kinda falling for you, too.”

Whoa, you’re right: I love you. 8-11: This is the puppy love section. Note the “Teenage Love Affair” and “Hummingbird Heartbeat” pairing making its way into a very serious “The Light.”

Intermission: Slow down, this is a lot to take in. 12-13: I don’t speak a lot of French but I get the impression this song’s about how beautiful you are. These songs also go really well together in terms of singer and musical composition. A good way to say, “Yes, I know I put a rap and an R&B song on here, but this one makes a smooth transition into all that indie shit we love.” “This must be the place” is kind of a nice way to smoothly transition into next section as well. I put these here because I love them so much; they are the love jelly spread between the lust bread and peanut butter.

I would do anything for you. 14-16: I’m fucking crazy about you. You are the waxing gibbous moon to my werewolf. See what I’m talking about? Even that analogy I just used was crazy.

I need you, stay with me. 17-21: This section says, “I can’t be without you, please don’t leave.” “Strange Attraction” is here instead of in the “Holy shit I love you” sections because the story line swims through meeting, loving and leaving while maintaining an adorable chorus. It probably really belongs in the “Alright, are you sure?” section, but instead of dealing with break-ups for an entire mixtape, I included it to introduce a thought more along the lines of something like: Every time you walk out the door, it feels like you won’t come back. Don’t go.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] made a simply huge mistake. Unlike last year when I couldn’t be bothered to plan ahead for on-time delivery, this year, I’ve barely […]

Leave a Reply

