Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Adele, 1988 and 211
  • The Afghan Whigs, Unbreakable
  • Fleetwood Mac, Rumours
  • Girl Talk, All Day
  • The Hold Steady, Boys and Girls in America and Separation Sunday
  • Jay-Z, Hard Knock Life, Vol. 2
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • M83, Saturdays = Youth
  • Miike Snow, Miike Snow2
  • Money Making Jam Boys, The Prestige
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, Mecca & The Soul Brother
  • Queens of the Stone Age, Era Vulgaris
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St. (Deluxe Edition)
  • Say Anything, In Defense of the Genre
  • The Sheepdogs, Learn and Burn3
  • The-Dream, Love vs. Money

Random Excellence:

  • The Wildbirds, “421 (Everybody Loves You)”
  • The Police, “Voices inside my Head”
  • Lauryn Hill, “Every Ghetto, Every City”
  • Daft Punk, “Voyager”
  • The Heavy, “How You like Me Now?

Songs of the Week:

  • Yelle, “Amour Du Sol”
  • Raekwon, “Criminology”
  • GZA, “Alphabets”
  • Kings of Leon, “King of the Rodeo”
  • Gym Class Heroes, “Cookie Jar (Feat. The-Dream)”

Reviews:

1. Adele had a seriously excellent week (at least in terms of my listenership).

One of my friends from my old internship finally convinced me to sign up for datpiff.com and it has opened a whole new world of music to me. I’ve seriously been terrified of mix tapes for a while because 1. literally anyone can make them, which guarantees no level of quality, and, 2. they are that new frontier, that freaky, uncharted ground of music that contains anything from shitty raps by great rappers to incredible music from people who will never be heard from again.

After chatting with my friend about our long history of loving the same music (The-Dream, Adele, Lil Wayne, etc.), he finally convinced me to download the 1988 mixtape since it contains two things we both love: Adele’s incredible voice and beats from rap’s heyday. (Her first album was 19 so they obviously get endless admiration for their mixtape titling skills.)

And the greatness doesn’t end there–she released 21 recently, to pretty much everyone’s great joy. I don’t want to overstep my bounds but I think it sounds a lot better than her first album. I think she’s singing the pants right off of these songs.

2. The hardest part about this album was first discovering it at my retail-type job and the second hardest part was realizing all the best songs on the album have already been beaten into my cranium ad nauseum thanks to my retail-type job. Having this album is just a way to satiate my twitches when I’m fiending for some otherworldly Swedish electropop with weird fucking titles like, “A Horse is not a Home.” I’m not entirely convinced I’ve missed the metaphor on that song in particular–it genuinely sounds like a bunch of Swedish dudes who speak English as a second language and meant “house” but went with “horse.” But, like all of the songs I don’t enjoy because they haven’t been beaten into my head, I could be wrong.

3. The only thing that made this album sound like it wasn’t recorded 30 years ago was when he sang something about Facebook. I think someone dug this up out of a time capsule and decided to tell everyone they recorded it three to six months ago. Which is to say, the music is plain old phenomenal, although I am sincerely worried that the lyrical content is lacking–I have to revisit these hot tracks to verify my original thesis that their vocalist did indeed mention some Internet thing called The Facebook.

Comment:

I glanced over some old twim recently and realized I might have misspoken about my intentions to keep listening to some of the stuff I reviewed only halfheartedly.

Things like Janelle Monae, Warpaint and Toro y Moi are definitely good, but my problem is that I’m currently in a state of heavy flux and I rely upon my music to belay my anchor. While I’m walking to the new job where I average about two face palms a day, the last thing I want to have to think about is the important messages and worlds Janelle has crafted: it is just so much easier to sink into “Ventilator Blues,” “Dreams” or “Southtown Girls” and the “1234, 12, fill, chorus 234, solo” feeling I already know and love from multiple listens. I need that feeling to keep me grounded, to keep me normal even though I know I should be experimenting and trying more new music (i.e, reexamining something I was not too hot on during the first listen).

Leave a Reply

