Skip navigation

I was looking over my collection of Dia Del Valentin mixtapes,  and I swear to God I’m missing one. I’m pretty sure I put The Kooks’ “Do You Wanna,” Queens of the Stone Age’s “Misfit Love” and LCD Soundsystem’s “Someone Great” together once. To remedy that and all the issues I had with having to omit stuff last week, here’s a backup playlist.

This is part alternates, part things I’ll never be able to include and part me just thoroughly enjoying making playlists. Maybe I’ll use this as a list to cull tasty licks from for next year’s list. Although this might fit on a CD, the chances of it ever getting burned are very, very slim.

The ordering mostly revolves around genres, making transitions from rock into pop and ending with rap and R&B. Quality is not guaranteed since this look like an hour and is more of a placeholder than anything else. I might have only been performing at 80% for this one because I kinda just threw some songs I had been considering two weeks ago together instead of adjusting the playlist every day for an entire month. True story: Dia Del Valentins can take a month and, even then,  I’ll wonder if the results were really any good  and sometimes make another. Maybe that’s what happened with Dia Del Valentin 1 and Dia Del Valentin Dos

  1. Slim Harpo, “Te-Ni-Nee-Ni-Nu”
  2. U2, “Two Hearts Beat as One
  3. The Temper Trap, “Sweet Disposition
  4. The Kooks, “Do You Wanna?
  5. Jimi Hendrix, “You Got Me Floatin'”
  6. Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, “Here Comes My Girl”
  7. Steve Winwood, “Higher Love”
  8. Genesis v. Katy Perry, “Invisible Gurls
  9. The-Dream, “Yamaha
  10. M83, “We Own the Sky
  11. Yelle, “Amour Du Sol”
  12. Robyn, “Stars 4-Ever”
  13. Ladyhawke, “Magic
  14. Mike Posner, “Bow Chicka Wow Wow”
  15. R. Kelly, “Ignition (Remix)
  16. Usher, “That’s What it’s Made For”
  17. Ghostface Killah, “Not Your Average Girl”
  18. Lupe Fiasco, “Sunshine”
  19. Method Man, “All I Need
  20. UGK, “Real Women”
Leave a Reply

