Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Adele, 21
  • Big K.R.I.T, K.R.I.T. Wuz Here1
  • The Cure, Galore
  • Cut Copy, Zonoscope2
  • J Dilla/Pete Rock, The Yancey Phillips Project3
  • LCD Soundsystem, This is Happening!
  • Money Making Jam Boys, The Prestige
  • Paper Route Gangtaz, Fear and Loathing in Hunts Vegas
  • Pete Rock and C.L. Smooth, The Main Ingredient4
  • The Sheepdogs, Learn and Burn
  • Slim Harpo, The Best of Slim Harpo5
  • Soundgarden, Telephantasm (Deluxe Edition)
  • Toro Y Moi, Causers of This6
  • Wacka Flocka Flame, Flockaveli7

Random Excellence:

  • Wiz Khalifa, “Glass House”
  • Van Halen, “Unchained”
  • Saves the Day, “Get Fucked Up”
  • The Raconteurs, “Top Yourself”
  • Jay-Z, “Hola Hovito”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Rolling Stones, “Shake Your Hips”
  • Robert Johnson, “Traveling Riverside Blues”
  • Rad Omen, “Rad Anthem”
  • The Afghan Whigs, “Faded”
  • LCD Soundsystem, “Dance Yrself Clean”

Reviews:

1. Very good, but also very, very long. The length felt almost unjustified, like it was ruining songs via overexposure. I don’t have specific examples off the top of my head, but it really felt like it lost steam in the middle and bits in the end. I will admit I thoroughly enjoy his knowledge of Southern rap.

2. Still super indie, though I did realize that all the hottest tracks are at the beginning of the album. It’s like the first four or five and then it sort of spirals out of control. The last song is a great example of what I mean: it’s 14 minutes long. There are only a few people who can make me want to listen to songs longer than eight minutes and their names are usually things like LCD Soundsystem or Led Zeppelin. So I see what you’re doing there, Cut Copy, but I just want more “Take Me Over” and “Need You Now.”

3. I love these beats though this mixtape makes it rather difficult for me to understand which beats belong to whom. It did however, reinforce my previous belief that Pete Rock is amazing.

4. Which brings us to the other Pete Rock album. These beats are incredible although nothing quite stands out on the first listen like it was “Wig Out” or “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.).” It’s kind of just a whole album of above average goodness. I’ll probably listen to it until I find the new “Straighten It Out”; which means for hours and hours.

5. I’m not surprised The Rolling Stones loved this guy. Almost too much awesome on one CD.

6. Like Cut Copy, still very indie, but unlike Cut Copy all the hottest tracks are at the end of the album. It’s almost too abrasive: there’s too much stop and go. I keep listening and hoping for him to stop cutting out the music. I love a good beat but when the music is the beat, I’m not sure it’s my favorite.

7. I went into this hoping to find something like Lil Jon and The Eastside Boys’ Crunk Juice, but it was kind of the opposite. Instead of that “Hey, we’re having fun in the club, don’t fuck with us” vibe, it was more of a “Don’t fuck with me” vibe. For the love of God, he named himself after Muppet’s catchphrase. Truly, I listened because the reviews promised great beats and shitty rhymes, but his catchphrases are worse than Lil Jon’s: “Bow. Bow.” “Briiiiick Squaaddd.” “Flocka. Wacka.” Every fucking song. And that spaceship noise Lex Luger uses on almost every song? I know the kid’s only 19 and his beats are extremely impressive for someone that age, but he will almost certainly look back on this album and regret using that sound effect so much.

Where Lil Jon made a stupid feelgood club album, Wacka Flocka made a stupid feel-like-shooting-someone album. And sometimes I wanted to shoot Luger for just using the same formula: extremely low base note as a kick drum beat, fast and almost mechanical hi hat with a high pitched snare, keyboard and violin in the midrange with extremely high pitched synth laced almost annoyingly on top. Honestly, the most exciting part about these beats was the how low the bass was. I liked that, but little else. The only impressive rapper on the whole thing was Wale–for a verse.

Comment:

I reinstalled Windows a week ago and I’m afraid a lot of relevant play counts were lost in the process. I have no evidence to back it up, but I’m pretty sure I listened to way more music than this.

Leave a Reply

