Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • The Beastie Boys, License to Ill and Paul’s Boutique1
  • Buddy Guy, Sweet Tea
  • Lupe Fiasco, Lasers
  • Lykke Li, Wounded Rhymes
  • Miike Snow, Miike Snow
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, The Main Ingredient
  • Raekwon, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx and Shaolin vs. Wu-Tang2

Random Excellence:

  • Eyrkah Badu, “Back in the Day (Puff)”
  • Saves the Day, “Bones”
  • Rage Against the Machine, “Down Rodeo”
  • The Cure, “Friday I’m in Love”
  • Jay-Z, “Sweet”

Songs of the Week:

  • Robyn, “Stars 4-Ever”
  • Buddy Guy, “Baby Please Don’t Leave Me”
  • The Afghan Whigs, “Somethin’ Hot”

Reviews:

1. Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 2 coming up, son. Gitchu some excitement.

2. Chef. Chef. Chef. Chef. Also, needs more GZA. Jim Jones and Rick Ross? C’mon, son. Jones’ career is probably about as dead as armadillos on Texas highways.

Comment:

I don’t really have any stories this week. I guess I could share the one about the time when I realized I might need to give up on my dream of copyediting. I was sitting at my desk, typing up the daily email and thinking about an upcoming “trial copywriting day” at an awesome place I interned over the summer when I realized: If people are going to keep paying me to write, then I guess I’ll keep doing it. For the love of all things awesome, I work at a place partially named “Recognition”; they’re in the business of recognizing people who do great work. Unlike retail.

Hoods on the right, wild for the night.

Leave a Reply

