Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • Buddy Guy, Sweet Tea
  • Frank Ocean, Nostalgia/Ultra1
  • The Hold Steady, Boys and Girls in America and Stay Positive
  • Kanye West, Graduation
  • Katy Perry, Teenage Dream
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • Led Zeppelin, IV
  • Pete Rock and C.L. Smooth, The Main Ingredient
  • The Roots, Game Theory
  • Santogold, Santogold
  • The Strokes, Is this It?2
  • Taking Back Sunday, Where You Want To Be
  • Tame Impala, Innerspeaker3
  • Thin Lizzy, Dedication3
  • Titus Andronicus, The Monitor4
  • Tyler, The Creator, Bastard1
  • Wu-Tang Clan, Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)
  • Wu-Tang vs. Beatles, Enter The Magical Mystery Chambers

Random Excellence:

  • Rage Against The Machine, “Take The Power Back”
  • Big K.R.I.T., “Hometown Hero (Feat. Yelawolf)”
  • OutKast, “Skew it on the Bar-B”
  • Mos Def, “Supermagic”
  • Jay-Z, “Hello Brooklyn 2.0”

Songs of the Week:

  • Spoon, “Don’t You Evah”
  • Ladyhawke, “Manipulating Woman”
  • Lykke Li, “Breaking it Up”
  • The Roots, “Don’t Feel Right”
  • The Afghan Whigs, “Crazy”

Reviews:

1. On the first song on Tyler’s album, he voices his frustration with getting pushed to the side despite the fact that he’s doing everything on his own: videos, tracks, rapping, whatever. To that I say, just because you’re doing it all yourself doesn’t mean it’s good. For example, consider this cover I recorded entirely on my own; no one says it’s any good. In fact I can hear every single mistake I made when I recorded it. I actually avoid listening to it because I can hear every single mistake. In that same vein, these albums aren’t good because they’re jarring or different. Tyler’s concept is definitely above par though Frank’s is borderline terrible. You can’t be a professional singer these days who loves AutoTune unless you’re T-Pain–and even then you’ll be relegated to singing hooks. And Tyler is almost just too offensive for my liking. It’s as if he’s trying to be offensive for the sake of being offensive–which isn’t art.

2. CEO of this once place I work has Spotify–despite how it’s not supposed to be in America yet–and we listened to the whole new album before it was out in the office. My response was obviously to revisit the first album because it’s awesome.

3. Why don’t more people make music like this anymore. Tame Impala is a rare bird these days and Thin Lizzy is fucking awesome.

4. Never would I have thought folk music and punk rock and terrible singing voices would have gone so well together so well. Though I have such a hard time listening to the vocalist, the call backs to a bygone era and the writing ability have granted me the power to look beyond how much I despise folk music.

Comments:

You see the theme happening in the “Songs of the Week” and “Random Excellence” sections, right? Back on Wednesday I got hired to copywrite for this place I interned at over the summer and they’re paying enough–despite me only working there Monday Wednesday and Friday–for me to be able to quit retail out in Brooklyn. I QUIT BACK ON FRIDAY. I’M ALL GROWED UP, I’M FREELANCING BUT I DON’T GIVE A FUCK. THE RETAIL NIGHTMARE I WOULD WISH UPON NO ONE IS FINALLY OVER.

Leave a Reply

