Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • The Beatles, Abbey Road
  • The Cure, Galore
  • Daft Punk, Discovery
  • Empire of the Sun, Walking on a Dream
  • The Hold Steady, Almost Killed Me
  • Interpol, Interpol
  • Jay-Z, The Black Album
  • Kanye West, My Dark Beautiful Twisted Fantasy
  • Kate Nash, Made of Bricks
  • Katy Perry, Teenage Dream
  • Kings of Leon, Come around Sundown
  • Pearl Jam, Vs. and Vitalogy1
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, The Main Ingredient
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • The-Dream, Love Hate and Love vs. Money
  • TV on the Radio, Dear Science2
  • The xx, xx

Random Excellence:

  • Warren Zevon, “Detox Mansion”
  • GZA, “Shadowboxin'”
  • Saves the Day, “The Last Lie I Told”
  • Nas, “Hero”
  • Big K.R.I.T., “I Got Drank”3

Songs of the Week:

  • Wu-Tang Vs. The Beatles, “Clientele Kidd”
  • The Temper Trap, “Fader”
  • Fleetwood Mac, “Everywhere”
  • Child Rebel Soldier, “Don’t Stop!”
  • Animal Collective, “My Girls”

Reviews:

1. I haven’t covered a song in a long time, but going back to these again was like getting slapped upside the head with a bunch of guitars. Some really dense, lush, beautiful music even though it’s soaked in anger and frustration. And then “Bugs” is stupid.

2. They did a show the day their new CD came out. In the true nature of my life right now, I had no idea it was happening. I don’t know how I missed that or the release of The Strokes’ new album. Both of these bands are amazing and both have new albums out and I don’t listen to them until like three weeks after the fact? I must be losing my touch.

3. Speaking of which, the awesomeness on this song reminded me I still haven’t listened to Return of 4eva yet. I know, you’re embarrassed for the both of us. I think I’ll be okay, though.

Comment:

There’s been a lot of change going on; I think I finally caught the rhythm at one job while the rhythm switched up at the other–but I might have cracked that code recently. Maybe my head was so far in employment, I forgot to look into new music. I haven’t been to a movie in weeks. I did an interview over a week ago and have yet to type it up. Maybe now I’ll pull my shiz together.

Also weird, I baked a pecan pie yesterday and kinda screwed it up. I’ve never cooked so poorly before. Just makes me want to do it right though, so I might have some fresh pecan pie in like a week or so. Let me know if you want some. Actually, if you see me, ask me if I’ve got my shiz together.

It’s like when the world’s oldest man said one of the secrets to a long life was embracing change; I don’t think it’s just embracing it, but also adapting to it. So I’m go chameleon some the crap out of some stuff right quick, brb.

Leave a Reply

