Skip navigation

Full Albums

  • Adele, 21
  • The Afghan Whigs, 1965
  • Big Boi, Sir Luscious Left Foot
  • Big K.R.I.T., K.R.I.T. Wuz Here
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Beat the Devil’s Tattoo
  • Eddie Money, Greatest Hits: Sound of Money1
  • Elefant, Sunlight Makes Me Paranoid
  • Faces, A Nod is as Good as a Wink…to a Blind Horse
  • The Hold Steady, Stay Positive
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, The Main Ingredient
  • Raphael Saadiq, Stone Rollin2
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St.
  • Saves the Day, Stay What You Are
  • Say Anything, In Defense of the Genre
  • The Strokes, Angles
  • The-Dream, Love Hate
  • Tom Vek, We Have Sound3
  • Van Halen, Fair Warning
  • Wale, Attention Deficit
  • Wu-Tang Clan, Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)4

Random Excellence:

  • Outkast, “The Way You Move”
  • Koko Taylor, “I’m a Woman”
  • Kate Nash, “Pumpkin Soup”
  • Jay-Z, “Real as it Gets”
  • Driver F, “Water Fun Express”

Songs of the Weeks:

  • The Hold Steady, “Constructive Summer”5
  • Wale, “W.A.L.E.D.A.N.C.E.”
  • Faces, “Miss Judy’s Farm”
  • The-Dream, “Body Work/Fuck My Brains Out”
  • Say Anything, “We Killed It”
  • Eddie Money, “Baby Hold On,” “Shakin'” and “No Control”

Reviews:

1. When I was a kid, my parents had a house across a valley from Eddie Money’s mansion. Supposedly, I used to hate him because he often had late-night jam sessions that would keep me up. I’m sure if I could go back in time, I’d try to go back and tell myself, “No. Shhh. Listen closely. That man can play, sing and write. That’s just a talented man making good music. Keep listening.”

2. I feel like there’s more hype behind this than actual content. I got pretty bored within like ten minutes or so. I think he’s trying to go for that neo-soul-type vibe, but it doesn’t feel like it’s working for me. I turned around after listening to Stone Rollin and switched to The Rolling Stones as soon as I was done. Which sounded a whole lot better to me.

3. These beats! I almost sent a copy of this as a part of my Father’s Day care package because it’s awesome, but then I decided to tone it down a little. It’s almost more post-punk than my Dad would like. There are some songs where the texture, on any other song, would go from that grainy, tinny sound and solidify in a concrete song, but I think Vek just keeps it tinny because he knows you’re expecting something else. He’s not going to play into the stereotypes because he’s on a quest to make music that is distinctly Tom Vek, yet also parts rock, punk, rap and independent rock and so on. The result’s a solid album with excellent music.

4. It’s just…too good. I might never get out of those 36 chambers.

5. This is my mantra, my anthem, my go-to song right now. And tidbits from it are the idioms I refer to on a daily basis; because me and my friends are like: double whiskey/coke–no ice.

Comment:

Good gravy boat, batman. Those there Webby Awards done gone wrecked us back on Monday. I even took a cab from the office to the Apple Store where I bought a company iPad 2 and turned around and set it up at the Webbys. We interviewed people like Lisa Lampanelli, Michael Ian Black and Christian Finnegan on it. Can you believe that crap? We were running around like chickens with our heads cut off for a bit, though, because you can’t upload videos to Facebook from an iPad. Luckily, we found a computer that had reliable Internet (broken Internet at the Webbys!?!) and uploaded from that one while live blogging on our personal iPads and phones. And that was just Monday; the end of a hellish week that saw almost everyone doing things like carrying desktop computers for six blocks. I think I’m still trying to calm myself, to calm the flames of “Holy shit let’s do all the things!”
Leave a Reply

