Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Beatles, Revolver, Rubber Soul and The White Album
  • Brand New, Deja Entendu
  • Clipse, Hell Hath No Fury
  • Cream, Best of
  • Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi, Rome1
  • The Dells, The Very Best of -Oh What a Night2
  • Eddie Money, Greatest Hits: Sound of Money
  • Fall Out Boy, From Under the Cork Tree
  • Foster the People, Torches3
  • The Hold Steady, Stay Positive
  • Kate Nash, Made of Bricks
  • Method Man, Tical
  • Owl City, Ocean Eyes
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • Pearl Jam, Vs.
  • The Rolling Stones, Sticky Fingers
  • The-Dream, Love vs. Money
  • Tom Vek, We Have Sound4
  • TV on the Radio, Nine Types of Light
  • The xx, xx

Random Excellence:

  • Van Halen, “So this is Love”
  • Rush, “Subdivisions”
  • K’naan, “Wavin’ Flag”
  • Coheed & Cambria, “Feathers”
  • The Arcade Fire, “No Cars Go”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Roots, “Web”
  • Robyn, “Dancing on My Own”
  • Miike Snow, “Black & Blue”
  • Jurassic 5, “What’s Golden”
  • Big K.R.I.T., “Return of 4eva”

Reviews:

1. I thought this was a lovely piece of music that definitely stands out as among modern music. I don’t know if I would have been able to hear all the analog recording or even to listen to it if I hadn’t already heard about it, but I think what’s really setting it apart sonically is the content. I feel like the back-breaking work to get everyone on the same instruments that Morricone used might have been excessive for this album, but I also think I’m kind of wrong. I’ve been hearing reports about how albums recorded strictly in digital don’t remaster well because digital recordings end up fading. Even if we don’t have any scientific evidence to prove one sounds categorically better than the other, there is something to be said about how recording this way can at least cultivate the different mindset needed to create different results.

2. This one breaks my heart. I know it’s good, but I feel like I’m jaded by the flashy techniques that have modernized the music industry in the last 30 years. I know that contradicts my somewhat anti-tech review above, but this almost felt like white noise. I need clangy, dirty guitars and a raspy voice. Or a horn section and a drummer so coked up he thinks he lives in Atlanta. That’s just the worst. I’m going to try to push past all that and keep listening because I’m sure they’re the best. Using your voice as an instrument is an extremely difficult task that should be rewarded.

3. It’s just catchy as all hell. A really beautiful album. The best songs are definitely “Helena Beat,” “Pumped Up Kicks,” “I Would Do Anything for You” and “Houdini.” But they don’t stand out like sore thumbs; they’re the digits that blend in, but stick out a little bit above a great, big, mellifluous hand.

4. Dude’s too good. First two songs and “Nothing but Green Lights”? Sell the farm ma, this kid’s going places.

Comment:

I’mma be out of town for the Fourth of July so I’ll probably do a t.w.i.m. Two Week Edition because a One-and-a-Halfer sounds dumb. On the bright side, I’ll be doing a lot of travelling; which means I’ll be listening to a lot of music. Should be good for all of us. Enjoy yourselves out there, but be safe. Don’t play with fire–too much. And so on.

Leave a Reply

