Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Adele, 21
  • The Beastie Boys, Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. II
  • Buddy Guy, Sweet Tea
  • The Clash, The Clash
  • Foster the People, Torches
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • LCD Soundsystem, This is Happening!
  • Metric, Fantasies
  • Miike Snow, Miike Snow
  • Neon Indian, Psychic Chasms1
  • Oh Land, Oh Land2
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • Prince, Prince
  • The Sheepdogs, Learn and Burn
  • The Strokes, Angles
  • Tom Vek, Leisure Seisure and We Have Sound3
  • UGK, Ridin’ Dirty
  • The Weeknd, House of Balloons

Random Excellence:

  • A Tribe Called Quest, “Vibes and Stuff”
  • The Cure, “Hot Hot Hot!!!”
  • Kings of Leon, “Slow Night, So Long”
  • The Gaslight Anthem, “Orphans”
  • Interpol, “Rest My Chemistry”

Songs of the Weeks:

  • Wu-Tang Vs. Beatles, “Clientelle Kidd”
  • The-Dream, “Yamaha”
  • Taking Back Sunday, “Bonus Mosh Pt. II”
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, “All the Places”
  • The Black Keys, “Tighten Up”

Reviews:

1. I think this one would be a whole lot more fun for me if I was into drugs. I don’t think I heard a word they said. I mean, it’s cool and I’m sure I’ll grow to love it, but this is the kind of album that pops up in the super-cool next-new-thing loving indie circles…and then just kind of stays there. I’m not saying I’m super cool, I’m just saying this seems like the kind of stuff Pitchfork shits their pants over for a full month and then we never hear of the band again. Obviously I can’t be super cool: this album came out like two years ago and this is the first time I listened to it…

2. This is a bunch of fun, but I should mention this girl is absolutely captivating. Simply because a friend invited me, I went and saw her live without ever have hearing a song of hers before. The first thing I did when I got home was get the album. She’s this statuesque Scandinavian with the stage presence of at least four people and the voice of a siren. I pretty sure I’m not the only person who feels this way: during the show, my friend looked over and said, “I’m pretty sure every guy in the audience just fell in love with her.” I agreed and explained that I hadn’t been dancing the whole night because I was attempting to stare deeply into her eyes in the hopes that our love was mutual.

3. Man, my entire “Full Albums” list would have about, if my math is correct, six more albums on it if I hadn’t listened to the both of these about four times each in the last two weeks. Tom Vek is just a huge part of my iPod’s life right now.

Comment:

I bet this sounds like an introduction for a shitty movie preview, but do you ever look back on your life and realize you’ve made a life-altering mistake in just one night? Like you understand and have learned from the mistake, apologized endlessly for it, and you can still tell things will never be the same? Like that person can never be your friend again?

It feels absolutely ridiculous. Particularly when all I want is that person back in my life. I feel like a child because I’m given the silent treatment and ignored. And I’m worried all my frustration is turning these barricades into hatred. Which, perhaps unsurprisingly, feels even worse. I think I wash my hands of this, only because I don’t want to hate this person. Five years of friendship is a lot for me to give up on, but if they won’t accept my apology, then I guess those five years don’t have to mean anything.

On the off chance you still read my stuff, I’m still sorry. You were always better than me at writing, organizing, editing and having immeasurable tact. I apologize for the night when I had neither the latter nor a shred of decency. A million times, I’m sorry.

I can’t apologize forever, so I’m done.

Coming next week: More music! Less depression!

Leave a Reply

