Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Adele, 21
  • Beastie Boys, Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. II
  • Big K.R.I.T., K.R.I.T. Wuz Here
  • The Black Keys, Brothers
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Beat the Devil’s Tattoo
  • Calvin Harris, I Created Disco and Ready for the Weekend1
  • Childish Gambino, EP2
  • Does it Offend You, Yeah?, You Have No Idea What You’re Getting Yourself Into
  • Driver F, Chase the White Whale2
  • Eagles of Death Metal, Heart On
  • Eddie Money, Greatest Hits: Sound of Money
  • Empire of the Sun, Waiting on a Dream
  • Faces, A Nod is as Good as a Wink…to a Blind Horse
  • Fleetwood Mac, Rumours
  • Friendly Fires, Pala3
  • Neon Indian, Psychic Chasms
  • Raekwon, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
  • Rage Against the Machine, The Battle of Los Angeles
  • The-Dream, Love King and Love Vs. Money
  • Tom Vek, We Have Sound4
  • Van Halen, Van Halen II

Random Excellence:

  • Wu-Tang Vs The Beatles, “Clientele Kidd”
  • Kings of Leon, “Soft”
  • The Strokes, “The Modern Age”
  • Passion Pit, “Little Secrets”
  • Led Zeppelin, “When the Levee Breaks”

Songs of the Week:

  • Robyn, “Hang with Me”
  • Kate Nash, “Shit Song”
  • Driver F, “Bury Me with My Money”
  • The Clash, “Clampdown”
  • Jay-Z, “Off That”

Reviews:

1.Honestly, it’s incredible how different these two albums are. The first one’s some indie dance stuff and the second one’s this poppy, guest-filled piece of glittery and striking commercial music. It almost feels like a complete turn in a different direction, but it’s still very distinctly Calvin Harris. I find I still reach for the first album more often than for the new one because I’m more comfortable with it. I actually even think the general population still isn’t quite ready for him; if he keeps the trend going, his next album’s going to be full of nothing less than a bunch of straight-up pop hits.

2. Have to get pumped for the new album and all that noise.

3. This is also some super-indie, super-dancy music. It’s a lovely album, but I really don’t think anything on this album outdid the climax pairing of “Show Me Lights” and “True Love.” Those songs just stand out above all the rest, begging to be listened to on a loop.

4. HAHA, fooled you! Not only did I listen to more Tom Vek last week, but I listened to Leisure Seizure and Foster the People’s Torches once each on the way to and from work today. So getting Tom Vek out of my life is probably not going to happen; at least for a while.

Comment:

I put a hole in the crotch of one of my two pairs of shorts in the middle of summer. And, for those of you unfamiliar with fashion, stores don’t sell for the season you’re in; they sell for next season. So finding another pair of shorts was almost impossible. I mean, I found a pair, but the only sizes online were 28s and 42s. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever be either of those. I’m sure I was once a 28, but I don’t think my hips are ever getting smaller than a 32 because any smaller would be unhealthy or require surgery.

At any rate, this concludes what I consider the calm before the storm. Somehow I managed to sit down and watch a movie and write two blog posts for other people yesterday. At work today, I didn’t really have anything to do. My plans for tonight were cancelled, but I’ve just made some new ones. I’m also booked for activities from Tuesday night through Saturday. So I’m very suspicious that the second I walk out that door behind me, I’m about to enter a world of hurt full of friends, hard work and not nearly enough sleep. So wish me luck and affordable coffee prices.

Leave a Reply

