Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • B.B. King and Eric Clapton, Riding with the King
  • The Beastie Boys, Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. II
  • The Black Keys, Brothers
  • Clipse, Til the Casket Drops
  • Foster the People, Torches
  • Friendly Fires, Pala
  • Ghostface Killah, Apollo Kids
  • The Hold Steady, Boys and Girls in America
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, The Main Ingredient
  • Santogold, Santogold
  • Saves the Day, Stay What You Are
  • Tom Vek, Leisure Seizure
  • The xx, xx
  • Yelle, Pop Up

Random Excellence:

  • A Tribe Called Quest, “The Hop”
  • The-Dream, “She Needs My Love”
  • Prince, “Cinnamon Girl”
  • Kings of Leon, “Camaro”
  • Interpol, “Barricade”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Wildbirds, “It’s Alright Now”
  • TV on the Radio, “Caffeinated Consciousnesses”
  • Tom Vek, “Too Bad”
  • The Knux, “F!re (put it in the air)”
  • Driver F, “I Have Better Things to Do Tonight than Die”

Reviews:

Huh. It appears this week I literally didn’t listen to a single album I haven’t heard before. I guess I should point out that Riding with the King, though incredible, definitely reeks of being a bunch of covers. I think it must be incredibly hard to have a unified album when only one song on an album is written by both of the guitarists playing on it. Don’t get me wrong, every song is incredible; it’s just that they’re great individually, not as a cohesive unit.

Comment:

I think I guessed right last week: though this week was crazy, it was also crazy fun. I had a great time with some genuinely great people, but this week I definitely need a bunch of indoor time so I can catch up on some work. That sounds weird to me, too, but I definitely need to do it. Like get some new, ill beats. Oy vey with the obligations and stuff.

Leave a Reply

