Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Adele, 21
  • Beyonce, 41
  • Chamillionaire, Badazz Slow Mixes2
  • Driver F, Chase the White Whale
  • Friendly Fires, Pala
  • The Gaslight Anthem, ’59 Sound
  • GZA, Liquid Swords
  • The Hold Steady, Almost Killed Me
  • James Pants, Welcome
  • Julian Casablancas, Phrazes for the Young
  • Justin Timberlake, Justified
  • Kings of Leon, Come Around Sundown
  • Mayer Hawthorne, A Strange Arrangement
  • Meth, Ghost and Rae, Wu Massacre3
  • Oasis, (What’s the Story?) Morning Glory 4
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St
  • The Roots, How I Got Over
  • Three 6 Mafia, Most Known Unknown5
  • Tom Vek, Leisure Seizure
  • UGK, Ridin’ Dirty

Random Excellence:

  • A Tribe Called Quest, “Jam”
  • The Strokes, “Someday”
  • Robyn, “Stars 4-Ever”
  • Jay-Z, “It’s Alright”
  • Girl Talk, “Set it Off”

Songs of the Week:

  • Trae the Truth, “I’m On”
  • Kendrick Lamar, “Vanity Slave”
  • Jay-Z, “Can I Get A…”
  • The Clash, “Police on My Back”
  • The Afghan Whigs, “Come See About Me”

Reviews:

1. If she’s going to keep singing her pants off like that, she’s going to have to do it in my apartment. But seriously, she’s really quite good and this album was surprisingly solid all the way through. However, certain songs stick out above and beyond the rest. It’s not that the rest of the songs are bad or too slow or something, but that “End of Time” is heartfelt and a whole bunch of fun to dance to. “Countdown” is catchy and lovely. “Party” is phenomenal and stuck in my head.

2. I’m very concerned that, despite his talent, King Koopa is destined for one-hit wonder status. The constant mixtape assault, however, gives me the hope to feel like he just might not be. It’s the same model that’s been working for people like Lil Wayne, Big K.R.I.T., Gucci Mane and Yellawolf: make the mixtape rounds for a while so everyone knows you can rap while getting your name out. So I get the impression, when he raps over all these newer tracks, that he’s aware of what’s going on right now in music and where he needs to be. Now all he needs is a bunch of producers he trusts to whip up some hot shit so he can just lay back and murder every track. That’s all I want, at least.

3. To use their words about their album, “I want it right now. Gimme my fuckin’ shit–Chicka Blaow!”

4. Everyone you know loves every song on this album. Maybe some are too long, maybe some eyebrows are too big, but it’s just chock full of awesome songs and nineties nostalgia. Though the latter’s there, I think this is an album that just might transcend that era because the songs are so good–it’s going to be around forever.

5. They were about to win an Academy award. The production is just so good and so consistent, I don’t think they’ll be able to do it again. This is them at the height of their skills. Before the reality TV show and before it was just two dudes. Stay fly, Juicy J and DJ Paul. Stay fly.

Comments:

All this talk about production reminds me about how productive I still need to be. Sometimes seeing people screw up so terrible, despite how they hold degrees from schools I want(ed) to go to, pushes me a little harder. The combination of chipping away at a giant to-do list and knowing I can work harder and (write) better than some people has been giving me the impetus to just keep pushing ahead. They’re not going to do it for me or anything, so it’s all on me to keep improving myself.

You should probably get some bread and olive oil while reading that paragraph above. So you can make some grilled cheese. I disgust myself.

Leave a Reply

