Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Action Bronson, The Program EP
  • The Clash, The Clash and The Essential Clash
  • Empire of the Sun, Walking on a Dream
  • Faces, A Nod is as Good as a Wink…to a Blind Horse
  • Foster the People, Torches
  • Friendly Fires, Pala
  • Genesis, Invisible Touch
  • Ghostface Killah, Apollo Kids
  • The Hold Steady, Stay Positive
  • James Pants, Welcome
  • Jay-Z, American Gangster
  • Jay-Z and Kanye West, Watch the Throne1
  • Ladyhawke, Ladyhawke
  • LCD Soundsystem, This is Happening!
  • Led Zeppelin, IV
  • Michael Jackson, Thriller
  • Pearl Jam, Ten
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, Mecca & the Soul Brother
  • The Police, Reggatta Da Blanc
  • Queens of the Stone Age, Era Vulgaris
  • Spoon, Transference
  • Steve Winwood, Back in the High Life
  • The Strokes, Angles
  • Tame Impala, Innerspeaker
  • Television, Marquee Moon
  • Tom Vek, Leisure Seizure
  • TV on the Radio, Nine Types of Light
  • The Weeknd, Thursday2
  • Wu-Tang Clan, Legendary Weapons

Random Excellence:

  • The Beatles, “Tomorrow Never Knows”
  • Public Enemy, “Anti-Nigger Machine”
  • Otis Redding, “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)”
  • Interpol, “Untitled”
  • Craig Mack, “Flava in Ya Ear (Remix)”

Songs of the Week:

  • Seasick Steve, “Whiskey Ballad” and “Back in the Doghouse”
  • Yeasayer, “O.N.E.”
  • Led Zeppelin, “When the Levee Breaks”3
  • Cults, “Oh My God”
  • Trae the Truth, “I’m On”

Reviews:

1. I don’t know if it’s because I really don’t like Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All, but I just don’t understand why people like Frank Ocean. Maybe he’d be okay without the AutoTune, but the fact that I still have to complain about that makes it pretty frustrating that it’s still happening.

2. I like this a lot, but I don’t think it’s as good as his first effort. I also have a pretty hard time listening to “Life of the Party.” It kind of feels like production stepped up, but quality control wasn’t there to match the effort. I kept hoping for “House of Balloons/Glass Table Girls” or “The Morning” and I think the closest I might have gotten was “The Birds Part 1.”

3. I was listening to IV at work when this song came on. It was the first Friday between the earthquake and Hurricane Irene so I wasn’t thinking far enough ahead for it to be topical enough for the latter, but is just begged to be put on repeat. I think I’ve loved that song since I first heard it and I don’t think I’ll ever stop loving it.

Comment:

I think the two things I might need to fix in my life most right now are probably gym time and sleeping time. I’m pretty sure I need to get back in the gym again before this whole weight thing spirals out of control and so I can at least try to start playing some team sports or something. But the bigger issue might be the sleeping.

Sometimes I’ll wake up with the kind of headache I’d get after a night of drinking, even though I haven’t been drinking. The lack of sleep will slow down work like I’m actually hungover. I think I’ve heard of or read studies that suggest that a lack of sleep is just as detrimental as being hungover, but I’ve written some of my best work-related stuff while actually hungover.

It’s a confusing situation: do I spend the rest of my weeks poorly slept and exhausted in the hope that I can keep writing good stuff at work or should I try even harder to get a good night’s sleep and write some relatively okay stuff with a clear head? The exhaustion leads me to believe I should just get some more sleep and there’s the off chance that my well slept brain might dive into its recesses to extract some hangover writing tips or something ridiculous like that.

Then the gym stuff’s on me–just gotta start going. Maybe I should pick up some ibuprofen first…

Leave a Reply

