Skip navigation

Full Albums

  • Oasis, (What’s the Story?) Morning Glory1

Random Excellence:

  • A Tribe Called Quest, “Check the Rhime”
  • M83, “Kim and Jessie”
  • Mos Def, “Mista Nigga”
  • Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, “More News from Nowhere”
  • Gorillaz, “Rhinestone Eyes”

Songs of the Week:

  • Warren Zevon, “Lawyers, Guns and Money”2
  • Run-DMC, “Down with the King”
  • Prince, “I Wanna Be Your Lover”
  • LCD Soundsystem, “All My Friends”
  • Justice, “DVNO”

Reviews:

1. “Morning Glory” and “Cast No Shadow” are just so good, it’s hard to believe all the beauty of the former is about a coke-addicted girlfriend. This album reveals more with every listen. For example, the album’s first couple of chords are the same chords as “Wonderwall.” Talk about hyper-aware: they knew one of their best hits was good enough to merit starting off the album while still not actually getting played in full until a little later.

2. I put this on my “Social” playlist. Do you have any idea how ridiculous that is? My favorite line on this song is “Now I’m hiding in Honduras;/I’m a desperate man./Send lawyers, guns and money!/The shit has hit the fan.” Then again, that line kind of makes perfect sense for a perfect party.

Comment:

This is kind of embarrassing. I have the new STS, new Kendrick Lamar and the LCD Soundsystem’s last show on my iPod since the Sunday before last and I haven’t listened to any of it. I’ve dropped like seven podcasts though. I even have a Post-it next to my computer with a list of music I need to listen to, but I’m still chipping away at all these podcasts. I think I wish Marc Maron the kind of success that brings a real radio show or something because catching up on his podcasts is killing my music schedule.

There is nothing so weird for me as knowing the only full album I listened to for the entire week is an Oasis album. I don’t mean that disrespectfully to Oasis, but it’s just not me. I’ll figure this whole thing out.

Leave a Reply

