Skip navigation

Full Albums

  • GZA, Pro Tools
  • The Hold Steady, Almost Killed Me
  • Hugo, Old Tyme Religion1
  • Kendrick Lamar, Section.802
  • Left Lane Cruiser, Junkyard Speed Ball and Bring Yo’ Ass to the Table3
  • Mastodon, The Hunter4
  • The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St. (Deluxe Edition)

Random Excellence:

  • Terius Nash, “Wake Me When It’s Over”
  • Tame Impala, “Lucidity”
  • Public Enemy, “By the Time I Get to Arizona”
  • Prince, “Starfish and Coffee”
  • Outkast, “West Savannah”

Songs of the Week:

  • Nice & Smooth, “No Delayin'” and “Funky For You”5
  • Yelle, “Tu Es Beau”
  • M83, “We Own the Sky”
  • J.J. Cale, “I’ll Make Love to You Anytime”

Reviews:

1. So this is good, but I don’t think the poor guy’s going to be more than a one hit wonder. It’s a delight but it’s not quite as good as some of the other stuff on this list. But then again, some of the other stuff I like here will never be as mainstream as this guy could be. You have to admit, that “99 Problems” bit was pretty genius.

2. I’m so glad this guy is around. It kind of hearkens back to production of the late eighties and early nineties without any of the shitty rhymes. An excellent album.

3. This will probably be the only band I listen to for a month or so. It’s part Black Keys, part Rolling Stones and part metal. It’s blues the way I love to hear it: loud, dirty and crunchy as hell. They Junkyard just came out this year, but it’s their third album and this is the first time I’ve ever heard of them. Needless to say, I immediately dug into the back catalog to try to quench my thirst for more. I probably won’t be satiated until I’ve listened to all three of their albums on repeat for a very long time.

4. I love AllMusic.com. They’re such a great resource for proper spellings, song orders and reviews–but sometimes I don’t understand them. I know the art of reviewing albums in a very short time span is hit and miss (I frequently disregard an album that I’ll discover I kind of love on the second listen), but I really don’t think Leviathan is better than this album. They’ve been critical darlings for a while, but that album got 5 out of 5 stars and this one only got 4. What is so weird to me is not just the AllMusic response, but how most critics seem to generally agree with them. It makes me wonder if I just don’t know enough about metal music or somehow listening to them in the wrong way. That said, I’ll probably end up listening to The Hunter more than Leviathan because I can. Reviews aren’t my real dad.

5. These are those days where production was too good and the raps were fucking terrible. I think Greg Nice might’ve worn a helmet to class in high school. But good gravy, the things they were doing with samples. They were so good at sampling that it no longer matters that their raps were only kind of good–people listened to these songs so much that they had no choice but to ingrain some of these lines and build on them. Which is okay, because snippets in here taken out of context make way more sense than when they’re laying next to each other. Give me two weeks with these songs and I’ll hate that I know every word, but the beats will be eternal.

Comment:

I listened to Todd Hanson’s WTFPod. This guy’s a 20-year man at The Onion. Maron interviewed him in the hotel room he tried to commit suicide in. He’s such a funny man and it was heartbreaking to be able to hear the sadness in his voice. But it seems like after his attempt failed, his life started to come back together. He finally realized how many people care about him. I’ll stop putting words in his mouth, but listening to his story made me love (and want to work for) The Onion more than ever before. Todd Hanson, you glorious son of a bitch. Be well.

Leave a Reply

