Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Broken Social Scene, Broken Social Scene1
  • Battles, Mirrored2
  • The Cure, Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me
  • Driver F, Chase the White Whale
  • Foster the People, Torches
  • LCD Soundsystem, This Is Happening!
  • Left Lane Cruiser, All You Can Eat!! and Bring Yo’ Ass to the Table
  • Living Things, Ahead of the Lions
  • M83, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming
  • Mayer Hawthorne, How Do You Do
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, All Souled Out and The Main Ingredient3
  • Saves the Day, Stay What You Are
  • Steel Panther, Balls Out4
  • The-Dream, Love Hate
  • Them Crooked Vultures, Them Crooked Vultures5
  • The Replacements, Pleased to Meet Me and Tim
  • Wale, Ambition6

Random Excellence:

  • The Clash, “Police on my Back”
  • Spoon, “Was it You?”
  • Three 6 Mafia, “Hood Star”
  • Pearl Jam, “W.M.A.”
  • Cults, “Oh My God”

Songs of the Week:

  • Ray Parker Junior, “Ghostbusters”7
  • The Replacements, “Election Day” and “Alex Chilton”
  • Left Lane Cruiser, “Justify” and “Heavy”

Reviews:

1. I get the impression what I listened to wasn’t the whole album, but you can tell there’s a ton of musicians contributing; it’s bulky and dense. It’s an album that will only give you more, the more you listen.

2. Sometimes I felt this one was too quirky for me. Yet, I still like it. I’d probably enjoy listening to it more often, but I’ve been all about the Left Lane Cruiser for a while know. I think these guys and BSS might be getting pushed to the back burner for a little bit while listen obsessively to Left Lane sing about the back burner.

3. As far as I’m concerned, they’re the goddamned gold standard.

4. I don’t know if it’s hilariously bad or just hilarious. It sounds just like metal out of the eighties with lyrics right out of the pharmacy right around the corner. Some horrifyingly hilarious work. It’s really the kind of album you and some of your friends can listen to, but would never put a playlist for parties; heaven forbid you accidentally put that playlist on while family or children are in the room. End of career.

5. It’s funny how stepping away from this one gave me new ears. It’s really just so good. However, I will gladly admit that “Warsaw Or The First Breath You Take After You Give Up” and “Spinning in Daffodils” are terrible. Just terrible; it’s outweighed by all the awesome all over the rest of the album, though.

6. I don’t know if it’s because Big Ghost wrecked him, but I was a little disappointed by this one. I think one of the major points everyone keeps coming back to is that it felt a little disjointed. Like, is it titled Ambition and paired with Wale’s stare toward the top because he feels like he’s doing well but isn’t on top yet? Then a ton of the songs are about sex…where he’s usually on top. Yes, I used his sexy rap songs as a metaphor for his rap skills: I don’t know if it’s just me, but I feel like he’s getting out-shadowed by Rick Ross by being on his label. He’s on a major label, but he’s the critical darling living in the shadow of a popular darling. Like, he’s pressed by Warner Bros, and his All Music Guide categories still have him filed under “Underground Rap.” I wonder if he’s pigeon-holing himself somehow by making moves under the wings of one of the biggest (pun intended) birds in the rap flock.

7. This is Halloween. Maybe “Werewolves of London” and some other select jams, but this is just how I do it.

Comment:

Just so you know, the last t.w.i.m. was my 300th post. I looked over some stuff and realized my next project really should be to go through and edit this stuff. I’ve written here for three years and I can probably use three years worth of minor errors as a pretty solid editing gift to myself. (Want more copyediting practice? How about every error you’ve personally made in the last three years on your personal blog? Problem solved.) Yet, the real problem is going to be finding the time for that. I’m behind on just about everything right now. I might be able to pull it all together, though.

Also, sorry for a double-edition of t.w.i.m.; I’ve had some busy weekends (most notably, Halloween) and had little ability to publish this on time. Again, I apologize and hope your Halloween was excellent. I kind of had some other things to comment about, but I think I’ll leave it there for now. It just seems like a nice way to say, “Hey. I’m still here, maybe you are too. Let’s do this dance.”

Leave a Reply

