Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Afghan Whigs, Unbreakable
  • Bar-Kays, 20th Century Masters – The Millennium Collection: The Best of the Bar-Kays1
  • Big K.R.I.T., K.R.I.T. Wuz Here
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Beat the Devil’s Tattoo
  • Kelly Clarkson,  Stronger2
  • Kendrick Lamar, Section.80
  • Kings of Leon,  Come around Sundown
  • Left Lane Cruiser, All You Can Eat!! and Bring Yo’ Ass to the Table
  • Mayer Hawthorne, How Do You Do
  • Terius Nash, 1977

Random Excellence:

  • Radiohead, “All I Need”
  • Queens of the Stone Age, “Regular John”
  • Pearl Jam, “Animal”
  • Katy Perry, “Hummingbird Heartbeat”
  • The Hold Steady, “You Can Make Him Like You”

Songs of the Week:

  • Spoon, “Was it You?”
  • Bar-Kays, “Holy Ghost”
  • Ludacris, “Undisputed”
  • Fall Out Boy, “(Coffee’s For Closers)”
  • Eagles of Death Metal, “So Easy”

Reviews:

1. Man, on the recommendation of a couple of people, I signed all the way up for Last.fm because this and the other album I’m reviewing are the only ones I could remember from last week. Actually, this is the only one I actually played last week (more on that below). So these dudes are pretty amazing. When you listen to The Blues Brothers talk about real musicians plying their craft, I think of people like Booker T. and The MGs, The JBs and these guys. I’ve also been (doing a bad job of) looking for them since I first saw the opening credits of Superbad. “Too Hot to Stop” and “Holy Ghost” are probably just the definition of funky. I stumbled upon the latter while listening to a playlist with every song sampled by The Beastie Boys’s Paul’s Boutique and realized I had to keep the funk train going. So this album is pretty phenomenal.

2. I must’ve played this back when it came out, but it got buried down behind a whole bunch of The Replacements. Sometimes it was a little boring and sometimes it was a little angsty, but, holy god, it’s probably 3 or 4 times better than My December. “You Love Me” is really quite good. I think she might be the only American Idol vet I ever like because she’s such a good singer. I mean, there’s that, how she was the first and how I just don’t give a shit about American Idol. That said, this is just another really solid album for her.

Comment:

Sometimes I look at my homework and wonder if I’m even smart enough to be a copy editor. Like the only thing that’d help me would be 20 extra IQ points or something. Swear to Chicago Manual of Style. The copy editors I meet are way nerdier than me or any of my friends. Like, professional indoor people who have 13 cats and the ability to read with more comprehension than anyone you know. They were Classics majors and make puns in multiple languages. They know the difference between “lay” and “lie” cold, whereas I have to keep looking that crap up. (To be clear, I’m not poking fun, just wondering how I can get to that level of grammar knowledge and cat ownership.)

There might be a chance, though. A lot of what my class seems to be reiterating is that I really need to just start a list of rules I forget and words I can’t always spell. It’d be a good way to have, say, a life cheat sheet. Maybe that sheet can be my 20 extra points. Maybe I should go through Chicago and make my list before I edit these posts. Then, maybe scope some “may”/”might” jams from Fowler and other guide goodies. Doesn’t seem like too terrible an idea.

Leave a Reply

