Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • Danny Brown, The Hybrid1
  • MF Doom, Mm…Food2
  • M83, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming
  • Adele, 1988
  • Beyonce, 4
  • The Cool Kids, Tackle Box
  • Justice, Cross
  • Outkast, ATLiens
  • Raekwon, Unexpected Victory
  • TV on the Radio, Nine Types of Light

Random Excellence:

  • Styles of Beyond, “Second to None”
  • Sly and the Family Stone, “Underdog”
  • Left Lane Cruiser, “Heavy”
  • Jay-Z, “Sweet”
  • Cults, “Bad Things”

Songs of the Week:

  • Outkast, “Decatur Psalm” and “ATLiens”
  • Bar-Kays, “Holy Ghost”
  • Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, “All the Places”
  • Cults, “Oh My God”

Reviews:

1. I guess this is the kid, right? I think I gotta work my way past his voice first–it sounds more like desperation than aggression and confidence. Maybe, though, that’s what people see as authentic Detroit rapping these days. Maybe it also has something to do with how I’ve never been a big Eminem fan. Either way, I’m going to have to give it another listen or two to figure it all out.

2. I’ve never heard an album like this with such a hugely extended metaphor. Or eight. It’s like a rap, beat and sample master class sometimes. I’m pretty sure if someone forced him to make all of Ghostface Killah’s beats, their great grandchildren would still have fondue fountains–of gold.

Comment:

I don’t know if this is saying more about my resolve than I intend it to, but I’m still mulling about a couple of resolutions. I don’t want to bullshit my way through them if I know I’m not going to do them. But we’ll see what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

