Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The-Dream, Love-Hate
  • Van Halen, 1984
  • Buzzcocks, Singles Going Steady1
  • Lifter Puller, Fiestas + Fiascos2
  • Madvillain, Madvillainy3
  • Neon Indian, Psychic Chasms
  • Ohio Players, Fire4
  • The Rolling Stones, Some Girls
  • Driver F, Chase the White Whale and Bury a Dream
  • The Gaslight Anthem, The ’59 Sound
Random Excellence:
  • Frank Ocean, “Swim Good”5
  • The Police, “Bring on the Night”
  • LCD Soundsystem, “Someone Great”
  • Outkast, “Rosa Parks”
  • Rage Against the Machine, “Calm like a Bomb”

Songs of the Week:

  • Notorious B.I.G., “Notorious Thugs”
  • Buzzcocks, “Harmony in my Head” and “Why Can’t I Touch It?”
  • Driver F, “Younce Creek”
  • Pretenders, “You Hurt Me”

Reviews:

1. I guess I’m not surprised, based on the name of their band, but they seem like the consumate rock band: everything is sex, drugs, and rock and roll.

2. It’s like a weirder Hold Steady, and for good reason. Most of the band’s here and it’s mostly excellent.

3. Super weirdo rhymes over laid-back beats.

4. Funky, funky, funky, funky.

5. I know what I said.

Comment:

I think the most difficult part about searching for an apartment is that it feels exactly like applying for jobs three years ago: search diligently for something I’m actually interested in (and frequently things I’m not); send out one thousand well-crafted, hilarious emails; and get nothing in return. In the rare case of a response, it’s something that either demands immediate action or smacks of nothing short of a scam. Tonight’s showings were the first two I managed to schedule: the first canceled because the tenant is no longer moving out and the second smelled terrible, had a needle-drop-off bin three doors away, and a seven-year-old roommate whose mom (the apartment’s owner) did not appear to speak English.

So it feels like the few times there’s a glimmer of hope in that sea of poorly lit listings, my salvation slips through my fingers again. But I can keep sending some emails. Maybe these ones are more bland. Maybe these ones have what they wanted to hear in them. Maybe I’ll be okay.

Leave a Reply

