Skip navigation

Full Albums:

  • The Black Keys, Brothers
  • The Clash, The Essential Clash
  • Cut Copy, Zonoscope1
  • Ghostface Killah, Apollo Kids
  • GZA, Pro Tools
  • Kanye West, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
  • Keri Hilson, No Boys Allowed2
  • Kings of Leon, Come Around Sundown
  • Metric, Fantasies
  • Money Making Jam Boys, The Prestige: Jam Boy Magic3
  • Nicki Minaj, Pink Friday4
  • Queens of the Stone Age, Era Vulgaris
  • The Rolling Stones, Beggar’s Banquet and Exile on Main Street
  • The Roots, Rising Down and The Tipping Point
  • Saves the Day, Stay What You Are
  • Taking Back Sunday, Where You Want to Be
  • The-Dream, Love Hate
  • Toro Y Moi, Causers of This1
  • Warpaint, The Fool5

Random Excellence:

  • Wu-Tang Clan, “Ain’t Nothin’ Ta Fuck Wit”
  • Van Halen, “D.O.A.”
  • Lupe Fiasco, “Sunshine”
  • Girl Talk, “On and On”
  • Elefant, “Misfit”

Songs of the Week:

  • The Clash, “This is England”
  • The Rolling Stones, “Pass the Wine (Sophia Loren)”
  • The Cure, “Strange Attraction”
  • The Black Keys, “Sinister Kid”
  • The Afghan Whigs, “Faded”

Reviews:

1. I know it’s supposed to be good but right now it all sounds the same. Some songs are starting to stick out but it’s just so damned indie that I had to whip out some near-metal like Queens of the Stone Age. All that whispering can’t be fun to record, although I’m sure I’ll love this so much more next week.

2. I had to force myself to listen to this whole album. “Pretty Girl Rock,” the second song, is plain old terrible; it was only a little salvaged with the remix but she’s still rhyming the same terrible crap on it. And I know Rolling Stone already dealt with this issue, but how can she have so many rappers on this album and call it No Boys Allowed? It’s like she’s warning you in advance: “I think you’re an idiot. Don’t listen to this album.” The only songs I am guilty of liking are “Lose Control (Let Me Down Feat. Nelly)” and “Beautiful Mistake.” I honestly expected to like more than just two songs after she sang on like every rappers’ song–but most importantly Nas’ “Hero.”

3. As far as I’m concerned, Dice Raw and Black Thought won this round. Truck North seems to have had, simultaneously, some of the coolest lines and some of the wackest. However, it’s entirely possible the things that got the Internet hating this mixtape so much was all the talking between songs. It’s a rap tradition and all, but I don’t need an update on what mixtape I’m listening to–shut the fuck up and rap. No intros explaining your name–just spit it, drop your name in your verse.

I know this shouldn’t really be a factor since it’s a mixtape, but the production was excellent–there wasn’t a beat on there I didn’t like. Particularly since they turned a Sleigh Bells song into a rap beat.

4. There are few rappers I’m having such a love/hate relationship with. I think she has some talent, but more than anything the networking and the unique delivery method that has secured her an audience and some great production. She’s made some great rhymes, but I might never stop hating hashtag/punchline rap. It just feels like a cop-out and she can’t stop copping out. After all the swagger and braggadocio on the first track, I keep finding the rest of the album just doesn’t stand up to her boasts. Don’t get me wrong though, I think she’s really good and she’s definitely found her niche; I just want her to be better.

5. The drums are far and away the best thing on this album. I had the same problem with this album that I had with the Toro Y Moi and Cut Copy album though: it’s so damned indie; I want them to sing louder and with less reverb. I should probably sit down and listen to this one while not reading to get a better understanding of what they’re talking about because it seems like they’ve got some important stuff to say. I also kind of want them to speed up their music. Kinda like their EP, I want them to sort of reign it in and tighten it up, but I see what they’re getting at.

Comment:

I seriously have to set aside some time to reinstall my OS. When I browse the Intranets, I’m starting to get popups like I’m on my parents’ computer. It’s embarrassing. I used to be better at computers than this.

Leave a comment